My “Slice of Life”

Discussion in 'New Members' started by ascheff, 12 Jun 2014.

1. ascheff

ascheff

My "Slice of Life" - A noob's introduction

I'm not exactly brand new to the forum, as I've been using it for a lot of research here, but I figured it’s time to stop lurking around and make my first post!

I'm getting back into the hobby after a 17 year hiatus. Admittedly, much has changed in the hobby, so I've had to do a lot of research over the past year and learn much from scratch. My previous setup was a mostly fish only tank, that included some damsels, clowns, a tang, a snowflake moray, a few hermit crabs, a shrimp, a feather duster worm, an anemone, swarms of bristle worms and big carpets of “beautiful” hair algae. There might have been other stuff, but my memory is a bit fuzzy on the specifics. In a nutshell, I have lots of experience of what not to do.

The title of my post is a bit of a stretch, as there is no “Life” in the new setup.....yet. To be honest, there isn't even water yet :/

Anyhow, here is the plan. After much chopping and changing my mind, I'm busy setting up a 600 x 600 x 500 cube with 35 liter sump, that I hope to eventually turn into a mixed reef tank. This weekend I plan on giving the stand a coat of Hammerite, do my leak tests and start setting up the plumbing.

In the mean time I'm also collecting the equipment and supplies needed to fill the tank and get the cycle started.

Last edited: 12 Jun 2014
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Jason

Jason

masahello

Will be tagging along, when im upgrading im going the same size...

4. ascheff

ascheff Thread Starter

Equipment list

Here is a list of the equipment I have or plan on getting. Any comments or suggestions are welcome.

Display Tank: Rimless 600 x 600 x 500 cube with skinny coast to coast overflow (already have this)
    Sump: 35 liter with 4 compartments (already have this)
    Return pump: Eheim Compact+ 2000 (already have this)