Moving to bigger tank

Discussion in 'Medium Tanks' started by H8breed, 16 Jul 2013.

  1. H8breed

    H8breed

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2013
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Centurion
    Hi all

    Quick question. I am currently running a Buyo 550, but felt it is too cramped.
    Im upgrading to a 240l 5ft instead

    Now the question is, if I just move everything over from the one tank to the other [Water included], do I still need to cycle before adding the corals and fish back into the new tank?

    If so how long more or less?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. HOT SAUCE

    HOT SAUCE

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Manzini / Swaziland
    some people will say just move everything over.. but i would recommend to cycle the new tank.. that way you make sure you are off to a good start... but if thats not an option i can suggest mixing new water and getting new substrate.. preferably live sand. then fill the tank with the newly mixed water, add the live sand, wait to clear, and start adding your live rock making sure it spends as less time as possible out of the tank.
     
  4. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,749
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Provided you not adding any new liverock, you,can move things directly over. You will be adding more water so make sure the water you add is the same temp, salinity as the existing water.
    You will have to have more liverock to the tank at some point so try and add only cured liverock, but if that isn't possible then add one piece at a time.
     
  5. HOT SAUCE

    HOT SAUCE

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Manzini / Swaziland
    wouldn't you have to add more live rock to the new tank or do you have enough in your existing setup already.. if you are adding more live rock and you are getting it from a shop and its not cycled i suggest you cycle the tank
     
  6. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    It's quiete simple.
    If you can cycle and you feel you want to then do it. Letting a tank mature never and taking your time with it will not hurt your tank in anyway. Not only to let it cycle but to make sure everything is working together.

    But if you need to place the tank in the same place like i had to, you can transfer everything on the same day, but this comes with alot more planning for problems. And if something goes wrong you need a back up plan.

    There is no rigth way for this. but you need to decide for yourself the level of risk you are willing expose your tank and livestock to.
     
  7. H8breed

    H8breed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2013
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Centurion
    Awesome thanks guys.

    I have a lot of live rock, got these in advance to cycle in the old tank for a while first. Been in there almost a month now. Made the tank a little cramped, but that is only temporary. I have new sand and crushed coral which Ill be adding to the new tank.

    To be safe I think Ill run the tank on live rock only for a while, moving them over one by one and the livestock last
     
  8. Blue Reefer

    Blue Reefer MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    674
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Goodwood, Cape Town
    Give it a boost using Microbe lift Special Blend or Seachem Stability. I have used both with excellent results.
     
  9. CarlosF

    CarlosF

    Joined:
    11 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    956
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Centurion
    i have never cycled a tank and i didnt get any algae either.. But i did have massive filtration and dosed a lot of bacteria
     
  10. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    yip there are many ways to skin the cat, just make sure you know what and how your filtrations system works and what its limitations are
     
  11. Hails

    Hails

    Joined:
    22 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    2,212
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Kempton
    Tank will be looking empty for a while when everything is moved over ;)
     
  12. H8breed

    H8breed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2013
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Centurion
    OK Another question, or more advice really

    I want to get a nice clean look in the new tank. Best way to get rid of green hair algea before I move the live rock to the new tank?
     
  13. the fish

    the fish

    Joined:
    23 May 2012
    Posts:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida Hills Jhb
    switch the lights off.
     
  14. H8breed

    H8breed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2013
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Centurion
    So finally did the big move thius weekend.

    Still have some work to do on the stand, but otherwise all is going pretty well :)

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  15. HaroldF

    HaroldF

    Joined:
    9 Jul 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Centurion
    Stupid question ....but isn't that LED unit WAY to small for that DT?
     
  16. H8breed

    H8breed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2013
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Centurion
    Haha no I know
    It is a work in progress

    Getting new LEDs from Idol Marine on Sat. Had to wait for payday
     
  17. H8breed

    H8breed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2013
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Centurion
    Update :)

    DSC_0182.jpg
     
  18. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    Looking nice. How is your LS doing after the move? Did you do the whole move in one go? Or did you cycle first?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Moving bigger tank Forum Date
Moving Livestock over to Bigger tank General Discussions and Advice 14 Sep 2009
Moving to bigger and better things! New Members 25 Apr 2013
Moving tank long distance New Members 31 Aug 2016
RBTA split into 3 and are all moving Anemone's 13 May 2016
Leopard wrasse not swimming/moving but breathing Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 8 Apr 2016
Removing silicone from glass Anything DIY Related 29 Nov 2015
Removing divider from sump General Discussions and Advice 17 Sep 2015