Moving Tank

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by keyaam, 23 Dec 2008.

  1. keyaam

    keyaam

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ive currently got a 220 litre setup and upgrading to about double the size. I've got all the equipment for the new setup but just no place to run two tanks. I've read on the forum of members upgrading and transferring all livestock(fish and corals). i need some advise on how to do this?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Keyaam, setup the new tank and fill it with water and LR from you old tank (Keeping livestock in drums). Then fill the balance with water (NSW or Synthetic) There after move all livestock over, keeping an eye on water parameters ie. Amonia, nitrite and nitrate as you might just spikes.
     
  4. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Keyaam, can you set up the new tank straight away or does it have to go where the existing one is now?
     
  5. keyaam

    keyaam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    It has to go where the existing one is. What about the substrate Mekaeel
     
  6. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    The substrate can be moved. But my guess it would cause a huge amonia spike. I would say rinse it all out and then add to the tank.
     
  7. keyaam

    keyaam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Can i perhaps add anything to lower the chances of a huge ammonia spike. My substrate has lots life in it and dont wanna lose it
     
  8. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Yip. Organic Aqua. I've used it. And it worked.
     
  9. keyaam

    keyaam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Please give me more details and how much should i add
     
  10. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Keyaam. Check up with Northlands Pets. They stock the range and they will send it to you. The dosages are on the bottle.
     
  11. mike Bushie

    mike Bushie

    Joined:
    14 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    johannesburg
    Take everything MAJORLY MAJORLY SLOW. i learn' t that the hard way
     
  12. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Mike, Keyaam has to move one tank and place the new one in the same spot, i think thats why he has to rush it.
     
  13. mike Bushie

    mike Bushie

    Joined:
    14 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    johannesburg
    i had to do the same thing and lost some livestock in the process.

    Would there be a major huge ammonia spike if he where to take the substrate out gradually and place it in the new tank with a bit of the old tanks water (with a pump to keep the flow) ie there is no more substrate to cause spikes?

    Then
    try and organize a O2 bottle so that he can place all his livestock into bags and float the livestock in a drum
    Drain out the old tank
    move the new one into position place the water back into the new tank with alot of new water
    then finally acclimate the fish slowly in the new system
    as you would when getting a new fish/coral
     
  14. mike Bushie

    mike Bushie

    Joined:
    14 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    johannesburg
    i just think it is a good idea to put livestock in bags as placing them into the drum and having to re catch them is very stressful.
     
  15. mike Bushie

    mike Bushie

    Joined:
    14 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    johannesburg
    this is just my opinion though :)
     
  16. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Ok, heres what i have done previously with good results;-


    You will need, plenty of spare containers for old and new water, prepare as much spare new water as you can.
    Collect and retain as much tank water as you can - seriously, once you start to move things your tank water will go bad - due to the stress involved and the moving of rock, so collect off 25-30% of your tank water first, the rest i would discard.
    Remove the all tank water you can.
    Remove all the live rock and coral into containers with more tank water, give the live rock a shake to remove detritus as you take it from the tank.
    Once all the rock/coral is removed, catch all your fish and place them amoungst the coral/ live rock - they will be albe to hide so less stress.
    Empty tank and remove.
    Replace with new tank.
    Add live rock and NEW substrate (keep a couple of cupfulls of old substrate to seed new) you will need to prepare new substrate before starting the move.
    Add as much tank water as you have collected in step one, then fill with fresh which should be the same temp and salinity as the old.
    Add live rock+coral
    Add fish by acclimatising them in the usual fashion.
    Finally, and very slowly, add your CUC to the new tank.

    I have replaced over 40 tanks using this method with great success, i'm not saying it is the only way, but it is the only way I would go. Good luck and be prepared for a very long day.
    Add liverock and coral
     
    viper357 likes this.
  17. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Errrrm Mike (AKA Weeman) I was refering to mike Bushie :p
     
  18. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    That's ok:)
     
  19. mike Bushie

    mike Bushie

    Joined:
    14 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    johannesburg
    aaa mike what a popular name :)
     
  20. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    All the best people are called Mike.:whistling:
     
  21. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    i'm sorry. i disagree profusely. its eugene, or jorge :)
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Moving Tank Forum Date
Moving tank long distance New Members 31 Aug 2016
Moving Tank advice General Discussions and Advice 6 Sep 2015
Moving Tank General Discussions and Advice 24 Mar 2015
Tank moving services - Durban General Discussions and Advice 29 Jan 2015
Tank Upgrade - Moving my bubble tip Anemone's 10 Jan 2015
[wtd] Help moving tank Wanted 30 Nov 2014
Urgent help needed Anemones moving tanks Urgent Help Needed 19 Aug 2014