Moving stock to new tank advice please

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by rakabos, 10 Feb 2011.

  1. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Hi guys

    Well as some of you know i have a 270L DT and im looking at a 700L setup to replace it. Now i only have so much space so i need to drain the old tank and put the fish and coral in containers - then move the new tank to its spot and add all the stock again.

    So that means my old 350L of water or so would be used and the rest would be newly mixed saltwater.

    This would surely cause a cycle. Would it be too much stress on the fish to do it this way or are there better ways? I would add as much purigen/carbon as i can to remove ammonia and look at other ammonia extracting products.

    Can this be done?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Quintonv

    Quintonv

    Joined:
    18 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Tagging along as i have to do the same procedure this weekend:1:
     
  4. Evo R

    Evo R

    Joined:
    8 Dec 2009
    Posts:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Mosselbay
    Are you going to use your old sump LR substrate ect. ??
     
  5. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    yeah do what you said with the ammonia removing products and use lotsa prodibio,microbacter 7 or stability during the first few days with maybe a small water change or two and you'll be fine.

    Prodibio should do it all for you though....
     
  6. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Well i guess it wont be possible - it would need to be rinsed right?
     
  7. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    yeah you will have to rinse the substrate etc but live rock will be fine

    oh and use some bioballs in the tank just for the first two weeks and then slowly remove a handfull every week....this will give the bacteria place to rapidly take a hold....
     
  8. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    And a few big spnges to trap some pods. My poor sand sifting goby - i hope he makes it
     
  9. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    newly mixed salt water cannot cause a cycle.

    Remember, although we say we cycle our water. we are not getting the water to the correct parameters and bacteria load, but rather the live within the rocks. We are cycling out rock, not the water. Yes, sure there are some bacteria floating around, but nothing compared to the live within the rocks. Cycling is more the process of getting rid of any live that died during transport, re-setting the balance of organism inside the rock.

    OK, so what do you have. Same as a tank move, where you move to a new house. Just move everything to containers.
    Drain old tank into extra buckets, drums cooler boxes whatever.
    Remove old tank, put new tank in place.
    Put substrate back. Yes there will be detritus and green pea soup all over. So unless you have more new water available than the 350L you already need, then you could maybe have started by siphoning the substrate a bit before emptying old tank.
    And unless in display substrate is thick, disturbing it should not matter for the live in it.
    Put your rocks back. Obviously you will not be able to see what and where you put the rock, so forget about aquascaping. Just put it back.
    Put corals and softies and whatever back. Again do not worry about spacing. Just ensure nothing stings something else.
    Fill 50% old water to new tank.
    Put fish in separate plastic bags, using the water they come out of. Add these bags to sump area for now (out of the way), use clothing pegs to secure them.
    Put rest of old water back. Leave last bits in each container.
    Fill up with new water to full.
    Switch circulation on.
    Move some bags of fish to display if needed again ensure them with clothing pegs. Add a cup full of water to each bag every 10-15 minutes. If bag is too full, just empty it half way back into system. Hour later, temp, PH and salinity should be pretty much the same in bags and display.
    Can put all your hermits and snails together in one bag.
    Have a beer. Actually have some more.

    Next day,
    switch circulation off.
    drain some water out into shallow container or cooler box, or better, put corals in sump, then no need to switch return pump off, or to drain some water.
    remove all the corals to sump or container
    redo your rock art
    Replace all corals. just check water temp on container.
    have another beer, or two, or ....
     
  10. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    yeah sounds easy when u plan it like RiaanP states - i just need a LOT of containers. Any1 in Jhb willing to spare some when i do this ? Wont be this weekend though
     
  11. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    Biggest problem, is temperature drop in the containers.The process takes a lot longer then you think.

    Also, better to put the fish in a cooler box with lid almost closed. If you have small powerhead or airpump, use it, put heater in there as well.

    Also what I found helping, preventing too much stress on the fish, add one or 2 pieces of LR to the cooler box. Feels more natural for them. Just ensure it is stable, do not want sushi.
    And have enough towels around, spread one out in front of tank. Everything will be wet by the time you are done.
     
  12. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Yeah got lotsa old towels to use and spare heaters/pumps. Just gonna need plenty containers, will ask Bryan at jungle or Ian at lifestyle to spare some on the day
     
  13. gMAN

    gMAN with the plan

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2010
    Posts:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Houghton Estate, Johazzardousburg
    Hey Martin, I have 4 x 25l containers that you can borrow for the move, should i bring it along with on Sunday?
     
  14. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Hey greg... I will collect them from you when the move is in place - Thanks!
     
  15. gMAN

    gMAN with the plan

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2010
    Posts:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Houghton Estate, Johazzardousburg
    coolio...
     
  16. NeilSmit

    NeilSmit

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Just want to know as I need to do this aswell this weekend.
    If you move your dsb over to the new sump, will this not cause a major cycle?
     
  17. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Yeah it will, u will need to rinse it first before adding it in again
     
  18. NeilSmit

    NeilSmit

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria
    If you rinse your dsb, will this not remove/kill all the good bacteria in it?
    What will break down all the ammonia, nitrite, nitrate?
     
  19. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    It will kill them all but u have no choice. U cant disturb that sand unless u want to wait for a few weeks to re-cycle. Take a nice ice cream bak and fill it with the dsb sand and use that to add to the newly placed and rinsed sand. Should seed it quickly
     
  20. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    My discussion above relates to the same DSB, but if you also replace the sump, that is another problem.

    It will cause issues. If you rinse, you will kill some bacteria, not all. Other will die later due to sand disturbed and it is now in the wrong place. Not that simple.

    If you can run both sumps in series for a month, that will be first price.

    Else create a new DSB with new sand and seed it properly from your old DSB.
     
  21. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Moving stock tank Forum Date
Moving Livestock over to Bigger tank General Discussions and Advice 14 Sep 2009
Moving all my livestock over to a new tank! Advice Please! Beginner Discussions 25 Mar 2008
Moving livestock General Discussions and Advice 2 Jun 2015
Moving tank long distance New Members 31 Aug 2016
RBTA split into 3 and are all moving Anemone's 13 May 2016
Leopard wrasse not swimming/moving but breathing Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 8 Apr 2016
Removing silicone from glass Anything DIY Related 29 Nov 2015