moving my tank

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by craig redfern, 28 Sep 2012.

1. craig redfern

craig redfern

Hello again i have just purchased my 2nd tank complete with corals and fish and was wondering if anyone can give me a few pointers and advise:) i have never done this before. another concern is the DSB is this necessary if you have a good skimmer?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator

Hi Craig. I see somehow the peeps missed your thread!

It depends on what skimmer you have. No - IF the skimmer is hugely overrated, and it is a decent brand skimmer, then you do no specifically NEED a DSB. A DSB is nice in that it also helps to breed a LOT of pods to feed your fish and corals as well.

4. jacquesb

Sorry - I nearly missed your original question about moving tank.

Geez - this is a difficult thing - not impossible, but really difficult. And it does not happen overnight.

So - you will NEED to setup the new tank first (unfortunately), as you would need to cycle the water in your new tank before you can put everything into it.

Then - once your new tank is cycled, you can put all the corals, etc into the new tank. And then you can move the stuff out of your old tank into the new tank. The process takes a while to complete though.

5. mandrin

mandrin

Hi Craig,how Big Was Yr Old Tank An wat,seize The New One
    Well I Have Done This as well ,Wat i Did Was Wen I Did My Water
    Change I used the water.to add to my New Tank , as Well As Balance Of New,water Wit salt

Then I Let It Cycle For 6 Weeks, and Add Yr Live Rockthe Key
    Is Patience bud
    An U Can Add More Water From Old Tank During The 6 Weeks

Last edited: 4 Oct 2012
  6. craig redfern

craig redfern Thread Starter