Moving Center Braces in tank

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by scubaninja, 13 Oct 2008.

  1. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    Hey guys, i have two stips of glass bracing my four foot in the centre. they are quite wide, in total about 15-20cms wide. so it cuts out quite a bit of light no to mention the fact that they are extremely irritating when i'm tryin to do maintenance. I want to move them out to the ends of the tank euro-bracing style. was thinking of moving one, getting it settled, wait a couple of hours/days and then move the other. Anyone got any experience on this? any suggestions?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Andreas

    Andreas

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Centurion
    Dont you currently have bracing on the end of your tank on either side?
     
  4. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    How many millimetres are your tank's glass, ScubaNinja? This will determine the viability of doing this......
     
  5. scubaninja

    scubaninja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    nope

    6mm i think
     
  6. scubaninja

    scubaninja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    help?
     
  7. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Let me see if I have this straight, you have 75mm - 100m braces in the centre of your tank, and nothing on the sides?
     
  8. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Something like this?





    [​IMG]
     
  9. lv

    lv

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi scubaninja

    It all sounds a bit risky to me.

    I drill my tank with 50% of my water still in the tank and look what it got me.

    No tank, fish, live rock and one hell of a clean up.

    Personally I wouldn't risk it.

    Try having 2 new braces cut and silicone them in place first, then remove the old braces.

    Remember "if it isn't broken don't try to fix it."

    PS. cool drawing there Kanga
     
  10. scubaninja

    scubaninja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    no euro bracin on the front and back at all, and the two pieces are together in the centre.

    i know it aint broke but its seriously cutting out a wack of light from my t5s, with MH i wouldnt bother but i'm only ever goin to be using T5s, so i need to do something.

    i am a bit worried about something going wrong, hence me asking first. i want to put euro bracing in, what if i put a clamp/vise type thing in place to do the job of the two strips and put my euro bracing in place then place the strips? if the vice type thing is holding doing the job of the strips wouldnt my risk be lower?
     
  11. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Is the tank empty? if mot it would be better to have it empty so there is no pressure on the glass, then add the eurobracing and move your original braces towards the ends of the tank.
     
  12. scubaninja

    scubaninja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    no dude, tank been running for like two months now:whistling:
     
  13. lv

    lv

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Scuba please correct me if I'm wrong.

    Is the 2 braces attached to the displays glass directly (+/- 6mm bonding surface).

    If so I'm not sure how much structural strength the braces offer, but will give a guy I

    know a call and get back to you ASAP.
     
  14. lv

    lv

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Guy wants to know depth of tank?
     
  15. lv

    lv

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Well let me know if you need help.
     
  16. scubaninja

    scubaninja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    sorry was writing a test, pawned that test! woohoo! anyway, yes, bonded directly to the glass, cant remember if there is a small section of glass bonded to the underside of the strip and then the front pane. depth is 440. that help?
     
  17. ziyaadb

    ziyaadb

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    5,566
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB-Lenzz
    best bet would be to get them cut out once you have braced the tank
     
  18. Bob the (reef)builder

    Bob the (reef)builder

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Joburg
    Definately put two braces along the front, under the old braces. Put two new one along the side too. Then cut off the old ones.

    Good luck, altering old tanks is never the greatest idea, maybe live with what you got?
     
  19. scubaninja

    scubaninja Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    nah, i want to move it if its possible, the braces are really in the wrong place for me. they are bracin the top and obstructing me puttin in eurobraces along the back and front, so what i want to do is brace it with a vice and then move then
     
  20. ziyaadb

    ziyaadb

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    5,566
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB-Lenzz
    Eish man thats taking a huge chance
     
  21. Andreas

    Andreas

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Centurion
    your best bet will be to remove the water and then brace it.safest by far:)
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Moving Center Braces Forum Date
Moving tank long distance New Members 31 Aug 2016
RBTA split into 3 and are all moving Anemone's 13 May 2016
Leopard wrasse not swimming/moving but breathing Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 8 Apr 2016
Removing silicone from glass Anything DIY Related 29 Nov 2015
Removing divider from sump General Discussions and Advice 17 Sep 2015
Moving Tank advice General Discussions and Advice 6 Sep 2015
moving anemone Anemone's 11 Jun 2015