Moving all my livestock over to a new tank! Advice Please!

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Matt, 25 Mar 2008.

  1. Matt

    Matt MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    I've just bought a Boyu TL-550 and want to move everything over from my 24G JBJ Nano Cube.

    What is the best way of doing this?

    So far i've put in about 60L of SW and matched the SG to that of my tank. Added substrate and put some LR rubble (from the old tank) into the new tank. Any advice please.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    Try and seed the Substrate, it will help
     
  4. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    I will take substrate over from my existing setup, as well as all the live rock etc.

    Can I just use all the old water, and liverock and some of the substrate and add the livestock tomorrow? i.e it's like doing a LARGE water change as 50% of the water will be from old tank and 50% newly made SW.
     
  5. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Was your old tank getting worn out then?:)

    Right, here's my two penneth on the subject;-

    1, have enough spare water to nearly fill your new tank, as you start moving rock you will fill your old tank water with crap, so remove some before you move anything else.
    2, move the liverock, and scape, get it fro tank to tank quickly and you will not suffer die off.
    3, move fish and acclimatise (probably not necessary as you will have added most of your old water) deffo acclimatise the shrimp and snails though.

    If you are adding more live rock, cycle it in the (now empty) old tank and transer when cycled
     
  6. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    Matt, I'd really rather not answer you on this one. In my case I had a sump running for almost 06 months when I just connected to the new tank. I did not loose any livestock (including the Aptaisia and Cyano) and had a very small cycly due to the dead live rock I used. I added the old water from the old display as well as about 1800lt of new water, and moved all the livestock over in the same day (As far as I can recall), but I would not advice it
     
  7. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Mike, this guy's tank has never seen crap, I am sure his fish wear nappies. He has an unbelievably clean tank.
    ;)
     
  8. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    Wee-Man: :razz: a mate of mine wanted a tank, and couldn't get hold of one like mine, so he said "why don't I buy this bigger one and you have it, then give me yours" I was like "sure, that sounds good" hehe! Couldn't pass up the opportunity of a bigger tank!

    Just want to make sure I change everything over properly and avoid problems! Plus this new tank has a skimmer and UV steriliser! :)
     
  9. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Sounds AWESOME MAtt - just one question! Where's the pics! ;-)
     
  10. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    jacquesb: I'm going to do the move first, empty tank not that interesting! ;) hehe
     
  11. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Good point, but even so, i would knock up some extra water, just in case;)
     
  12. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    Its more a matter of getting the params right now! My old tank has a pH of 8.2, whereas new tank has a pH of 8.6... Not sure on best approach as to make these the same?
     
  13. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Mix up the 2 tank's water a bit, that should level the ph, just do it slowly.
     
  14. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    Thanks for the advice Wee-Man :peroni:

    Just did a 10L change, will do one again at lunchtime and again this eve. Hopefully the pH will even out :thumbup:
     
  15. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    One question:
    I cannot acclimate my coral as they are glued to different pieces of LR, if my SG is the same as well as pH and temp, surely i can transfer them straight into the new tank??
     
  16. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Then it will be even more important to get both tanks as level with each other as you can, keep swapping water over and the two should settle down
     
  17. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    will do ;) how often can I do 10L water changes without affecting my current tank too much?? maybe say 5 x 10L changes throughout the day?
     
  18. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Just think of it as acclimatising an invert, only on a much bigger scale, just do small changes often.
     
  19. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    5 x 10 will be fine Shan. Make the first one early and the last one late, and space out evenly.
     
  20. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    cool ;) hoping to move my livestock over tomorrow if the tanks params are the same! ;)
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Moving livestock tank Forum Date
Moving Livestock over to Bigger tank General Discussions and Advice 14 Sep 2009
Moving livestock General Discussions and Advice 2 Jun 2015
Moving tank long distance New Members 31 Aug 2016
RBTA split into 3 and are all moving Anemone's 13 May 2016
Leopard wrasse not swimming/moving but breathing Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 8 Apr 2016
Removing silicone from glass Anything DIY Related 29 Nov 2015
Removing divider from sump General Discussions and Advice 17 Sep 2015