MH id

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by speedz, 3 Jun 2009.

  1. speedz

    speedz

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durbz
    Okay i bought a "metal halide floodlight" from someone. The thing is that it says nothing about bulb rating or anything. So how can i get some info on this light?
    It also came with a mounting for attaching it to a wall or pole which makes me wonder if its a halogen, can some one please tell me about this
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. brettb2020

    brettb2020

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    715
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    you do get MH flood lights like halogen. did it come with the bulb? does it have a double ended or single ended fitting? if double ended, measure the distance between the terminals and i can tell you what wattage it is.

    try open the unit and take pics of the control gear and post them just to make sure if it really is MH.
     
  4. speedz

    speedz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durbz
    The pics are below, the light is a single ended fitting


    excuse the poor lighting






    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. speedz

    speedz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durbz
    anyone got an idea about this light?
     
  6. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    It looks like it's either a 250 watt or 400 watt metal halide, Speedz.

    You can POSSIBLY use it. BUT, you will have to get a marine rated (
    10000K or higher) globe..... You will have to open the starter gear to get the actual wattage, though.....
     
  7. speedz

    speedz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durbz
    i guess im going to have to open the ballast up, thanks for the info
     
  8. brettb2020

    brettb2020

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    715
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    that looks like a 400w looking at the arc gap of the globe. but to make sure open the cover of the control gear to make sure.
     
  9. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    It looks like a sodium bulb there but I may be wrong. Fire it up and see what it looks like
     
  10. Stressed Eric

    Stressed Eric

    Joined:
    20 May 2009
    Posts:
    294
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg Kzn
    I think Tony's right, that is a sodium globe. The metal halide's have a "bubble" looking element. Sorry bro, it'll work like a bomb in the sump for cheato, or else you can use the ballast etc on a MH globe.
     
  11. speedz

    speedz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durbz
    it burns yellow, not white
     
  12. Boendoe

    Boendoe

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wilropark Roodepoort
    Sorry bud it's not a MH, I doubt that the spectrum of the globe will correct for Marines. :(
     
  13. speedz

    speedz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durbz
    is it possible that if i change the bulb i can use it for marines? btw i opened it up now, the ballast is 400w
     
  14. Stressed Eric

    Stressed Eric

    Joined:
    20 May 2009
    Posts:
    294
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg Kzn
    Yes, the sodium and MH globes use the same switchgear so you can plug a single ended 400w MH in there and fire that sucker up. I won't even start suggesting which kelvin rating, that's up to you, there's about as much consensus about the "right" colour as opinions out there, so good luck !
     
  15. speedz

    speedz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durbz
    okay thanks, just one more question. Does this light pull a lot of current enough to trip the lights in a house?
     
  16. jaquesdp08

    jaquesdp08

    Joined:
    25 May 2009
    Posts:
    960
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    ladybrand
    depends on the breakers you have in ur house... i had a small flat and ran 600 watts worth of lights without and issue..
     
  17. Boendoe

    Boendoe

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wilropark Roodepoort
    It won't trip your lights in your house depending on how many amp's you run on the breaker , for excl your kettle in would be 1000 watt plus. Also a normal Plug point could handle 16 Amps, if I'm correct your light is 400 watt and run of 220 volt that gives you 1.81 Amps should be fine.
     
  18. speedz

    speedz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durbz
    Okay so this light is not been used and i want to get rid of it, its to heavy to ship so durban buyers only. Make me an offer
     
  19. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Speedz. Put it in the classifieds section, you'll sell it fster there
     
  20. speedz

    speedz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durbz
    unfortunately my post count is not high enough
     
  21. martinhal

    martinhal

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    353
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Northriding
    ask some more questions dude :thumbup:
     
Recent Posts