Mercury in reef tank...is it bad???

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by lanzo, 29 Jul 2009.

1. lanzo

lanzo Sponsor

hi guys

What will happen to the tank inmates if a glass thermometer brakes in a reef setup?

Will the mercury Beads have a drastic effect on corals? if so...i long before corals start dying?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. lanzo

lanzo Thread Starter Sponsor

:bump:

4. Dewald@Dorry

Dewald@Dorry

I'm not an expert but know that mecury beads rust like the speed of light when they get in contact with sea water. One of mine broke and after two or three days they are totally disolved! (I think). Likely I did not have any live stock in as yet, only live rock and they seem to be fine!!

I would recommend doing water changes to get the metal out of your tank quite frequently.

Maybe the experts can shed more light!!??

5. lanzo

thanks man

6. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

Lanzo, the liquid should not be a problem, but the metal balls, they will rust and cause problems

Take the magnet from a powerhead, and move it around the area where it broke.

7. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

Also, its been years that mercury is not used in thermometers, but a red dye that is not poisonous.

8. lanzo

will try the magnet thanks riaan, will see if its red....i'm a bit colour blind:p

9. leslie hempel

leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor