Meanwell driver connectors

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by naptalene, 26 Aug 2012.

  1. naptalene

    naptalene

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Hi, can someone give a yes or no on this please.

    Meanwell 60-48p running 1.2A on +\_
    Can an RCA cable handle that? Just want to check with someone with experience. Thanks in advance
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. hadiosbourne

    hadiosbourne

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    capetown
    What do you want to use the RCA for? for connecting the LEDs to the driver or to connect the driver to the controller?

    What i did with my controller was, i got normal twin cable ,and connected them to RCA jack, but its not a RCA cable, i assume it can work with RCA cable as well if you want only to connect it to the controller, since there is a small current going through that channel.


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]
     
  4. naptalene

    naptalene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Hey dude,

    It's the led to driver connections I'm worried about. Do you reckon if I use 1mm wire on the RCA itll be cool?
    Got that on the LEDs themselves with no problems.

    Was chuffed, they all worked first time.....
     
  5. hadiosbourne

    hadiosbourne

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    capetown
    1mm wire is a bit too small, but if the LEDs are working fine with that wire i don't see any reason you can't connect it to the driver, normally you use the same wire as you used for LEDs to connect the LEDs to the driver,
    I would suggest you connect the LEDs with that RCA cable, and then check whats the current in the string with a multimeter to make sure the correct current goes through the wires.
     
  6. naptalene

    naptalene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    What did you use for the LEDs? The 20 awg is .5mm
     
  7. hadiosbourne

    hadiosbourne

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    capetown
    thats right, i used the 20awg , i think its more or less about 2mm
     
  8. naptalene

    naptalene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    That's the outside diameter, I believe it's 0.5 mm copper inside. So my wire is double that ( the thick ripcord, thin audio ripcord is 0.5mm)

    Thats kinda why I'm trying to double check everything lol.

    Also was worried that running double the thickness introduces an impedance issue? Do you know how long the +\_ wires can be?

    And I stole the RCA idea from you lol.
     
  9. hadiosbourne

    hadiosbourne

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    capetown
    I'm not sure about the inside diameter, you might be right,
    i don't think thicker wire would make any problem, also i believe RCA cables have 2cores inside,
    if the current wasn't right you can use the inner core only, but i think you are good to go.
    There is not really a fixed standard for the length and the thickness of the wires.
    i'll check Cree's installation manual to make sure, i'll let you know
     
    Last edited: 26 Aug 2012
  10. hadiosbourne

    hadiosbourne

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    capetown
    I'm glad it helped;)
     
  11. naptalene

    naptalene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Thks for the input :)

    Nice to bounce ideas around.
    Almost ready to post the build....
     
  12. hadiosbourne

    hadiosbourne

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    capetown
    couldn't find any more info, if it was much of a concern there would definitely have been some sort of warnings or instructions,
    I'm sure you are good to go ahead, make sure to measure the current with multimeter once the build is over,
    post the link in the group order thread so that we can follow,

    you're right its always good to get second opinion, i knew i would have the same problem with wires
    thats why i ordered a bulk of wires from Rapid;)
     
  13. naptalene

    naptalene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Just had a thought......

    I was assuming RCA's were stereo and then had a shield. WRONG
    I would have shorted the negative to the chassis/ heatsink, ie run both positive and negative on 1 RCA . Ain't gonna work like that:p

    @ Hadi , did you have them seperately?So only using the pin of the RCA's ?
     
  14. hadiosbourne

    hadiosbourne

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    capetown
    Ok, i'm not sure if i got what you said 100%,
    here is what i think you wanna do, you want to use a single RCA cable with 2cores, i.e the 1 without shield for negative and the one with shield for positive (I wouldn't advise doing it, since the current will differ in negative to positive)
    correct me if i understood wrong
     
  15. naptalene

    naptalene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    I think we're saying the same....

    1 RCA with driver + on the centre and driver - on the outer/shield. But that's a screw up as the shield is for earthing and would be in contact with case on the chassis mount RCAs.

    Yes? So bad idea yes?
     
  16. hadiosbourne

    hadiosbourne

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    capetown
    Yeah, i don't think its a good idea,
    you rather just connect the core and outer wire together to +
    and use another RCA and do the same for -
    or just use the center wire for each
     
  17. naptalene

    naptalene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Bugger, what i figured.....would have been so compact :(

    Thanks dudey......
     
  18. hadiosbourne

    hadiosbourne

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    capetown
    I know, it crossed my mind for the controller also:p
    but gave it some thought and then used separate wires.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Meanwell driver connectors Forum Date
[wtd] Meanwell driver Wanted 18 Feb 2016
Meanwell drivers Anything DIY Related 17 Feb 2016
[wtd] MeanWell ELN-60-48P driver Wanted 27 Feb 2014
[wtd] Meanwell led drivers Wanted 18 Jan 2014
[wtd] Dimmable LED drivers (e.g. Meanwell) Wanted 22 Nov 2013
[wtd] Meanwell ELN 60-48P Driver Wanted 15 Aug 2013
PCB for 6up Meanwell Driver Anything DIY Related 8 Jul 2013