Mathewis First Reef Tank

Mathewis

Damsel
Joined
27 Jun 2008
Posts
479
Reaction score
2
Location
Silver Lakes
Hi Guys,

So I finally got my self a set up. So I am going to need as much help from you experts as possible.

I have got thef ollowing setup.

The tank is a Jewel 800x350wx500h.
4 chaimber sump with dsb and about 2 kg's of live rock
Macro Aqua Needle Wheel hang on skimmer
2 x SEIO M250 pumps
1 x return pump
300 w heater
Waterboy 2 in 1 Carbon and phoshate reactor
For Lighting I got a 150w mh with 14000k and 2 x Acnetic T8's.
The tank also come with a filter canister inside the tank with load of sponges and a powerhead.
Inside the tank I have crushed coral with 5 kg's base rock and about 17 kg's of live rock that I got from submariner.

So here are the pics:

IM000732.jpg

IM000735.jpg

Do you guys see that shadow in the middle of my tank, its from some or other cross brace the tank has. Do you think I can get rid of it. Looks crap...
Here is the pic of the brace, also do you guys think my overflow looks right. Making a hell of a slurrping noise:
IM000736.jpg

The tank has been cycling since Friday,but I had to empty the sump on Sunday because of a leak.
Ignore the light I still have to lower and level it out.
Here are my water parameters:
PH: 8.0
Alk: Normal
NO2: 0.1
NO3: 20ppm
Salinity: 1.022
Temp: 26 degrees
Amonia: 0.25
ok guys so where can I improve?
 
Last edited:

Rory

Admin
Joined
5 May 2007
Posts
4,857
Reaction score
37
Location
JHB
That black cross brace is a bit of a bugger... Normally they're made out of glass, is that plastic?

You can move the light a little bit lower.
 

Mathewis

Damsel
Joined
27 Jun 2008
Posts
479
Reaction score
2
Location
Silver Lakes
Hey Rory, still saving for that chiller of yours. Thanx for the comments guys. This flippen bug has bitten me HARD!
 

burt

Clownfish
Joined
7 Mar 2008
Posts
1,079
Reaction score
1
Location
gordonsbay
with regards to youre overflow to the sump, turn it about 5 -10 degrees towards the bottom , adjust a bit.
 

leslie hempel

Sponsor
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
17,100
Reaction score
1,012
Location
Gonubie East London
looks good bud great potential...
 

sunburst

Foxface
Joined
8 May 2007
Posts
2,420
Reaction score
25
Location
Durban
Neat rig. Not sure if i have welcomed you. If not... welcome Mathewis :)
 

jacquesb

Retired Moderator
Joined
29 May 2007
Posts
17,868
Reaction score
71
Location
Cape Town
Very nice little setup there Mathewis! You won't be sorry. Perhaps you should just remove the sponges from the built-in corner/box filter, else you just MIGHT have some nitrate problems....

I see that the tank is still cycling - with an ammonia level of 0.25 (else your test-kit might not be 100%). Just wait it out (another few weeks or so), before you start adding life stock.

Otherwise GREAT setup man! Congrats!
 

Mathewis

Damsel
Joined
27 Jun 2008
Posts
479
Reaction score
2
Location
Silver Lakes
O yeah I did use live water aswell, maybe thats why the ammonia level is at 0.25.
I am in no hurry gonna wait it out, then I'll first add some corals, maybe softies. I'll for sure ask you guys opinion on what to add when the time is right.
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
Thanx guys.

Wee-Man the test result in my original post was taken yesterday.
So it is, that's speed reading for you:whistling:

O yeah I did use live water aswell, maybe thats why the ammonia level is at 0.25.
I am in no hurry gonna wait it out, then I'll first add some corals, maybe softies. I'll for sure ask you guys opinion on what to add when the time is right.

Wait until your perameters are better, ammonia, nitrite and phosphate at zero and the nitrates coming down, then add your clean up crew, turbos, hermits etc (don't get a starfish - it will die) give them a week or so and then start to look for easy corals and hardy fish, ask on here if you have any concerns about any choices before you get them.
You will probably get some algae blooms (we all do) as long as you keep your water in tip top condition they will go, keep us informed as to your progress and we can help you along the way, good luck.
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
Ok cool, will do that. Just need to get a test kit for phosphate.
Good idea, we normally run a phosphte remover as standard, prevention is better than cure, this prevents many of the nuicance algaes taking hold.

You can run it either in a fine mesh bag in an external filter, or more efficiently in a phosphate reactor.
 

Ross

Blenny
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
798
Reaction score
6
Great tank... looking good.
If that cross brace is glass and just painted, try scrap the paint off. I would not remove it unless replacing it with something transparent.

Where did you get that light pendent, it is awesome.

Ross
 

Ocean

Lazy Sea Slug
Joined
14 Nov 2007
Posts
1,217
Reaction score
8
Location
CT
Whats normal for ALK?
 

Similar threads


Top