Marine Learner

Discussion in 'New Members' started by CyberSlakkie, 27 Dec 2012.

1. CyberSlakkie

CyberSlakkie

Hi All,

Based in the West Rand. Currently have a 120LT Marine Tank running, built in sump.

Busy rigging up a 315LT DT, and planning a 120LT Sump.

I am very new to this hobby, and have already learned so much, JUST from reading the other threads!!

I am adding a couple of photo's of the current system, as well as the STAND for the new 300LT Tank setup.

Thanks!!

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. the fish

the fish

Hi and welcome to MASA. Hope you enjoy your stay here with us. :thumbup:

4. CyberSlakkie

CyberSlakkie Thread Starter

Just a bit of detail.....

The Skimmer will actually be used on the 300LT Tank, thus the "untidy" installation...... - The 120LT Tank does not have the required space for the Skimmer.....

In the tank, I have two clowns, a damsel and an Eel....

I need to find out what fish I can keep together, as this EEL has eaten my Goby, and cleaner shrimps!!!

See also new Tank Stand being built. Still need to do the bracing.....

Cheers!!

485.jpg

486.jpg

488.jpg

5. CyberSlakkie

Just a Query.....

1.) what is the best display tank vs sump volume ratio?

Thanks Again..!

6. CyberSlakkie

I am struggling with a proper SUMP Layout??

Also, is there any reason why I cannot install perspex baffles into a standard 3 / 4 foot tank and design the sump in this manner??

I have an idea on what I want to do, will attach a image for that a bit later on!

Thanks All!!!

7. Rossi

Rossi

masahello @RiaanP can help with sump design and advice

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  8. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

Hello And Welcome CyberSlakkie

That stand is strong enough to carry a car.