Marine Insurance?

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Jaco Schoeman, 17 Mar 2009.

1. Jaco Schoeman

Jaco Schoeman MASA Contributor

Hi all members. When I am not on this site, I am an Insurance Broker. I have given this plenty thought and also did a little bit of research, but I now need all your input here. I would have loved for this to be a poll, but I'm not sure how to make it into a poll.

I am wanting to create a niche insurance product for this hobby. There is a product out on the market called PetSure, but that covers your dogs, cats and horses mostly. The product I want to launch will would probably not cover our fish / corals when they get ill and die but it would cover other aspects that might be of importance to us. Not everyone has R8000 to take out of their pocket in the middle of the month to replace a Chiller that seized to work while their Metal Halides are boiling all our livestock... So where do you get the R8000 from?

That is where my product comes in. It will basically cover things like:

* Mechanical failure of important equipment ie. skimmers, chillers, lights, ozonizers, RO Units etc.
    - The idea here is that it pays out within 24 hours to replace the item with one of the same make/model/size to prevent death in livestock.

* The tank itself
    - This will pay out the total value of the tank glass should your tank burst

* Loss of stock due to bursting of tank
    - Reef Maniac mentioned that he had a 500 litre tank burst in his living room... I can imagine a fully stocked tank can leave fish / coral throughout your house, and the result would be dead livestock. This cover will pay out the losses occured in this event of the livestock that has died.

I am also getting my head around how to insure things like heaters failing to switch off and boil everything, power surges/outage/lightning damaging equipment etc...