Making water changes easier

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by LCornelius, 18 Feb 2011.

  1. LCornelius

    LCornelius Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,459
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Hi guys,

    I go down to the aquarium every 2 weeks to collect water and do a water change.
    My time is getting very limited, so I need to develop a system where I can get water once a month and store it for weekly water changes.

    My idea:
    Get a 2x200L tanks. The one tank will be placed at the back of my house.
    The area that it will stand in never gets sunlight so should be ok. The tank will also get a power head to circulate the water.
    The second tank will be used to collect water at 2 Oceans Aquarium.

    The idea is to pump the water from the one tank to the other.
    The distance would be about 30m
    What size pump would I need? Any suggestions?

    The pump should also be able to pump water from my display tank to the outside and then from the tank behind my house to the display tank for water changes.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. clinton stanford

    clinton stanford

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    2,210
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    East London
    i think your main issue here would be the head hight from tank to tank or display.if you head hight is between 1-2m then you should be able to use a normal return pump like a hailea or reef octo.the stronger the pump obviosly the better.maybe the other guys can suggest pump size ect ect.
     
    Last edited: 18 Feb 2011
  4. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,459
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Thanks for the response, the head height between the storage tank and the display tank is no more than a meter!
     
  5. clinton stanford

    clinton stanford

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    2,210
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    East London
    thats cool.i was using a hailea 6530 (1750L) pump with a head height of about 2m and a distance of about 20m and it worked fine for me;)
     
  6. mupwi

    mupwi

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban South Africa
    having just upgraded my tank and needing more water for water changes I am also looking at a similar pump system but I need to pump from the sea to the container in the car+- 35m and then from that container to the tank in the house as my back is starting to take strain I have an old bilge pump 1600l/h that im going to try setup on the weekend I may have to pump to an intermediate spot half way up though as the car park is about 8m above sea level
     
    Last edited: 18 Feb 2011
  7. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,459
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    I'm thinking of getting a well point pump!
    They are inexpensive as well.

    Would this work:
    Maximum Head 35.5 m
    Maximum Suction lift 7 m

    If I understand the pump correctly then, it can push water for 35m but only pull 7m.
    Would that be correct?
    If so, then I would have to place the pump next to the trailer with the one tank and pump the water to the tank in the back.
     
  8. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    a word of caution in terms of storing the water ..... be carefil of evaporation.... leaving it outsiode for a month will result in significant evaporation and your salt levels would go throught the roof !! its not a massive issue at all, just make sure you account for it is all !
     
  9. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,459
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Thanks Neil, will keep that in mind, the tank will be 100% sealed, so will check and top-up with RO if need be.
     
  10. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,459
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Crap, a well point pump would not work at all :tt2:
    All the metal inside the pump will get messed up! Might also be poisoning my tank!

    Getting a quote next week on a massive plastic pump :thumbup:
     
  11. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,459
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Do you guys think that the Hailea HX-6550 will work for the job?

    Flow: 5580L/H
    Max Jet: 4.0M

    Then run a normal hosepipe on it
     
  12. clinton stanford

    clinton stanford

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    2,210
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    East London
    yip that will work;)
     
  13. HenkHugo

    HenkHugo

    Joined:
    10 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Cape Town
    i use one of a large LifeTech pumps with a hosepipe. I think you need to come have a look at my setup. Salt mix is the way to go :D
     
  14. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,459
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Hi Henk,

    Would love to swing by sometime!
    Where can I get more info on the range of Lifetech pumps?
    Internet is useless on the topic :)

    :peroni:

    PS. Who stock the pumps?
     
    Last edited: 18 Feb 2011
  15. HenkHugo

    HenkHugo

    Joined:
    10 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I got mine from Panorama.

    Do you still have my cell number? Give me a ring when you want to pop in. In the mean time stop using the 2OC water :D
     
  16. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,459
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Henk I will give you a call and can maybe swing my on the 26th of March to checkout your setup.

    I got a brand new 5hp Swimming pool pump from a friend! Interior is stainless steal.
    So should be fine?

    Going to connect it to a multiport valve same as swimming pool. Then I can use it to circulate the water in the storage tank (filter setting). Use the waste setting to remove water from tank and rinse setting to pump water back to tank!

    Think this is a good idea?
     
  17. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    Would storing the water for a few weeks not cause dieoff and pollute your tank? Even with a circulation pump and airstone I would imagine some stuff will die.
     
  18. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,459
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    I agree Marius,

    Will only pump water from the top and drain the bottom part.
    As I understand this could work.
     
  19. Muz

    Muz

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    914
    Likes Received:
    7
    I collect my water in 25l containers, when I get home i gooi them into a 350l drum which is outside. From there i just use a small old powerhead to pump the water into the tank, it is only about 1000l/h so it takes a few min, but you dont need much more. A 5hp pump sounds hectic.

    I never leave the water there for longer than a week, I generally use it to top up the tank for water lost due to QT water use.

    Having this system in place is just a pleasure.
     
    Last edited: 17 Mar 2011
  20. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,142
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Location:
    Centurion
    one issue that might pop up, and talking about myself and my own attention span.

    If I switch on a pump for a few minutes, by the time a have to switch it off, I would have gotten busy with something else and end up with too much water being pump. I do it if I siphon water out of display into 25L drum. I flooded that drum so many bloody times.
     
  21. Muz

    Muz

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    914
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well glad to know I am not the only one. I drilled a hole in the side of my sump with an overflow for that very reason. I add 25l to my QT tank from the main display and switch on the pump to get some water from outside just to top up.. when i look again I have pumped 350L into my tank.. :thumbup:

    I always get miff cos then I know it is back to the 2OC the next day. If I was'nt so lazy I would hook up my ATO unit.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Making water changes Forum Date
waterfowl return pump making a lot of noise Pumps and Waterflow 19 Jun 2009
2m Aquaria - memories in making General Discussions and Advice 4 Apr 2016
Making the transfer New Members 1 Feb 2016
Congratulations Flipper Nano making Reef Builders TOP 5 Nano products for 2014!!... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 21 Jan 2015
Making my own phosphate reactor Anything DIY Related 16 Oct 2014
Some Enhancements to our website - Making your life easier ... Reef Aquatics 25 Sep 2014
demo Innovative tanks on special Making room for new retail shelving Yuppie Pets 2 Jul 2014