Maintaining a Quarantine Tank

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Kunhardt, 20 Feb 2009.

  1. Kunhardt

    Kunhardt

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,234
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    East London
    I will be getting my quantatine tank this weekend, Will be roughly 50L. I know it should be bare bottom, and have no rocks on pvc piping or pastic ornaments for hiding, and that it should be fulled from the main tank. What i dont know is how to maintain this tank while it is inhabitted by fish. How often should water changes be done, should they be done? what kind of lighting, i believe dim light, but thats a bit vague.

    Also being only 50L will it be big enough to keep my flame angel, yellow tang and bicolour blenny happily for the duration of their stay? Keeping in mind they are all still pretty small. Also should i medicate with copper? Or use some other form of getting rid of the white spot.

    Any other info you guys can think of that i may have over looked would be appreciated as well.

    Thanks.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    my QT has been running with bioballs and LR, i dont dose any meds yet, but i wont as them i cant QT the inverts/corals before i add them to the main tank.

    to keep it cycling i have hermits in the sump and some critters from the cheato
     
  4. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    You CANNOT put substrate, DSB's, chaeto or live rock into a quarentine tank. Some parasites that falls off the fish will hide there or lay eggs etc. You only put plastic ornaments or pieces of pipe in for the fish to hide/sleep. T8 lights should be fine, as you're not keeping corals. I would say regular water changes and a small skimmer should be OK to remove waste. Remember the fish need to stay for a month, so you need to replace water weekly or even bi-weekly. 10% will be fine. Not too experienced with meds, so wait for the doctors ;)
     
  5. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    oki cool. easy to remove, so just a skimmer and WC, sounds ok...
     
  6. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    Most guys that has a quarentine tank only set it up when they need it. After the fish is put over into the main tank they empty and clean it - ready for next time. No need to keep it running all the time.
     
  7. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    Thanks Tobes
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  8. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Spot on Tobes! However, you can add a little bit of substrate to the tank.
     
  9. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Not advisable, especially due to the white spot life cycle.
     
  10. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    i wouldn't bother with a skimmer, could use a canister filter. Mature Bioballs are a good idea for QT or fish only holding tanks. Getting rid of Ammonia and Nitrites is important, Nitrates not so.
     
  11. Kunhardt

    Kunhardt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,234
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    East London
    Cool. Thanks guys. I was told 100% water changes daily for the QT, and thought that sounded a bit weird. I've got 1 T8 ballast in my cupboard and a 10w actinic do u think that will be enough or should i get a higher watt globe?
     
  12. Kunhardt

    Kunhardt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,234
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    East London
    I was wondering about Ammonia and nitrites myself. So should I invest in bioballs?
     
  13. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Being a QT. Lighting is not important, you could just use natural lighting. My QT uses sunlght and this is just for the fish's nature cycles, nothing else.

    100% Water change I would only do if the fish is being medicated an the particular medicine suggests it.

    I would also do 100% WC, if I had say 20 fish in a small QT for some unknown reason.

    I find 10% every 2 days does the job nicely.
     
  14. dendrosa

    dendrosa Member

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    298
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Somerset west CT
    You need to distinguish between a quarantine tank and a hospital tank. Both tanks are best stored away in a cupboard and set up when required

    A quarantine tank is used for quarantining a new fish / coral prior to introducing the speciman into the DT. U should never use copper medications in the quarantine tank. Filtration in the qt tank is accomplished by using a sponge filter which has matured in your DT sump for just this purpose. Once quarantine pewriod has been completed, sponge filter should be thoroughly cleaned / steralised before returning to sump

    A hospital tank should be marked as such indicating that copper may be used in it if neccesary. No sponge filters should be used in a hospital tank. Regular water changes are required to maintain water quality. Usually fish are in the hospital tank for a much shorter time than during quarantine.

    Lighting in both cases is not critical. Energy saver bulb could be used. As long asfish has enough light to see its food / surroundings and more importantly you have enough light to observe the fish clearly either for signs of disease outbreak or for improvement in its condition.
     
  15. Pete

    Pete

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Under the sea
    :thumbup:Thanks that is useful info
     
  16. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Not really Warr. Those tanks that Lanzo got from me (6 tanks). Those were my QT tanks for all fish bought and locally caught. The tanks ran for 2 years withs a fine layer of substrate and were fine.
     
  17. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    If think guys are getting confused between QT and Hospital Tank.
     
  18. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    I think that you can and do sometimes use the same tank for both. Meaning if you just bought a fish and place it in the quarentine tank and it should get white spot after a day or so, then you need to take action and it becomes a hospital tank. Unless you set up a hospital tank as well and move the fish over. That's why I say don't put any substrate or LR in to start with.
     
  19. mnd123

    mnd123

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    Can one use the QT tank plumbed to a frag tank - what I mean is that the frag tank will drain into the QT and then into a sump with a DSB/Fuge and Skimmer?

    Or should the QT and frag tank be seperately plumbed into the same sump with DSB and Skimmer

    Or should they be completely seperate?
     
  20. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    When it is in use keep it separate, other wise they can be linked. Quarantine things should be isolated from your system or it is not really in quarantine.

    My2c
     
  21. mnd123

    mnd123

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    Thanks Shaun, considering I dont want any more fish the QT will only be for corals - so I guess one should seperate - but can they share a sump?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Maintaining Quarantine Tank Forum Date
Maintaining PH level Beginner Discussions 11 Apr 2013
Initially starting the cycle with NSW and there after maintaining with Synthetic Salt Water Parameters and Additives 24 Jul 2011
maintaining kh Water Parameters and Additives 18 Dec 2010
Maintaining water temps for Nano Nano Tank advice 25 Nov 2008
Maintaining Calcium and Alkalinity Water Parameters and Additives 26 Aug 2007
Setting Up A Quarantine Tank Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 1 Nov 2016
Quarantine Tank & Cycling DT Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 12 Jul 2016