Mad_Max NANO

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Mad_Max, 26 Feb 2008.

1. Mad_Max

Mad_Max

Hi,
    Thanks to everybody using this forum for sharring the good and bad.

I bought my son on 5 Jan 2008 (well that was my explanation to the boss) a BOYU TL450 nano 58l It looks to be a nice little setup seeing what has been posted so far. I have about 15 years of fresh water experience, not that this seems to be of any use when looking at salt water tanks (especially the filters).

The tank after doing some aquascaping.
    [​IMG]

Cycling took 5 weeks. The wait was long.
    [​IMG]

Added a turbo and hermit crab. Water parameters were:
    Ph = 8.2 NO2 = 0, NO3 = 20, KH = 10, NH3 = 0.5, NH4 = 0.003, Temp = 26, Salinity = 1.0240, Light = 5-6 hours a day.

A week later added 2 clowns
    (Ph = 8.2 NO2 = 0, NO3 = 0, KH = 10, NH3 = < 0.5, NH4 = <0.003, Temp = 26, Salinity = 1.0240, Light = 10 hours a day.

A week later added some polyps (@R120), leather mushroom (@ R170) and tube worm (@R60). I think I got a bargan.

The tank is starting to take shape. Polyps starting to open once light is switched on. The clowns keep on bumping in to the leather mushroom witch causes it to close a bit. Is that normal?
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator

Hello Mad Max - many thanks for sharing your story with us - we really appreciate it. Regarding the clowns bumping into the leather coral:
    The story is, that clowns like to "host" (live in) "something". Preferably an anemone. BUT, if there is no anemone present, they might end up "hosting" in the funniest of "things". These "things" most likely end up being corals (either LPS or soft-corals). I have even heard of clown-fish that host on the "power-head pump"....