LR vs DSB

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by magman, 11 Aug 2009.

1. magman

magman

Since joining the forum, I am considering converting to a DSB.

Currently I have +/-100kgs broken lr in the sump, in the middle 3 sections, sump is 1220x450x450.
    1st section is a 15% bio balls, basically on the surface,
    sections 2,3,4 are live rock,
    section 5 holds the return pump and my skimmer (unfortunatly it cannot fit anywhere else, as I had bought it prior to fitting the tank onto the stand, and is unfortunatly stuck in there now, I will get an external skimmer later).

I am thinking of braking the rock as small as possible, about 20mm to 50mm piecies, placing it in the 1st and second compartment, and then 3 and 4 DSB with live beach sand as well as cupfuls from here and there.

Will start slowly at first moving bit by bit, but otherwise you agree?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Pugsly

Pugsly

I am no professional here, but to my knowledge bio balls are a big no no!!!!

Second thing I would not suggest breaking the LR and then placing it it the sump like that - It is going to collect all bits and pieces and that is going to increase your nitrite and nitrate levels sky high!

If your plan is to purchase an external skimmer I would suggest then making as most of the sump a BSB even if it means DIY it to include baffels etc. Then you can plumb the new skimmer before the sump, let the water enter the sump over the DSB into the second sump if you wish and then return to DT.

I have had huge problems with GHA all because of crushed coral, bio balls, filter floss etc - it all just catches debrits!!!!!

4. Pugsly

Pugsly

PS. Doing it the way you said with the breaking of the LR into pieces - it is not going to allow pieces to get to the skimmer you have at the moment - personally I think its a bad idea and you need to re-look at this before you commit to it.

5. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator