LR vs Base Rock

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by belindamotion, 18 Feb 2011.

1. belindamotion

belindamotion Google Master

I've seen some Threads regarding this Topic and have then concluded that I have Base Rock...now do I HAVE to add Healthy LR to my Tank to assure diversity and prolong "longterm good health"...in a hell of a nutshell...or do I do "diversity" with Coral...? I must admitt I would have prefered Healthy LR, had I known beforehand, but all the "shops" only have Base Rock...so I assumed that's how it's done...where would I get Healthy LR...and should I rather not go that way as I'm very new to this and inexperienced regarding bacteria and other "abnormalties" I'll be facing with and trying to balance in my inexperience...

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. KeeganP

KeeganP

:confused1: Is that base rock you have there....
    try contacing (send him a PM) or I can get you his number if you like.
    The Waterboy - Marco Marine Aquariums of South Africa
    His in Durban and has LR

Last edited by a moderator: 18 Feb 2011
  4. Jaco Schoeman

Jaco Schoeman MASA Contributor

The major advantage of having liverock is that it is already... well... "alive"... What I mean byt this is if it is nice and healthy liverock, you already have plenty of bacteria that assists in filtration. It also has many micro fauna like pods and worms in it, that helps break down food and pooh in finer matter that bacteria can consume and break down in harmless elements (this is in a nutshell really, as it is much more involved...)

Anyway, normally LR is also more porious than most base rock I have seen, thus it makes for better filtration.

Nothing wrong with baserock though. It too will eventually become "alive" and have bacteria, pods and worms in it. It will get covered by calcareous algae en look like LR. I have seen reefers where you will not see the diffs between LR and BR.