Local breeding & propogation illegal?

Discussion in 'Diving, Collecting and Environmental Discussions' started by NewbiePta, 30 Mar 2015.

1. NewbiePta

NewbiePta

Morning everyone.

Just a quick question. I am new to the hobby yes, but my goal was/is to get to a point with hardware and knowledge that I can successfully breed normal fishies like Bangai Cardianal or some clowns. Maybe propagate some anemones and corals and sell them to sustain the hobby.

I mentioned this to a LFS and he told me that this is highly illegal. No marine fish may be bred locally nor any corals propagated and sold.

Is there any truth to this? I don’t trust this guy, he's prices on everything is sky high.:m33:

If I missed a similar thread I do apologise
    :m85:

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. jimilutz

jimilutz

It is unfortunately the truth. Search through this forum for the legal woes of a guy who was trying to breed clownfish. @dallasg is quite informed on the subject too.

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  4. mariusmeyer

mariusmeyer

Its turns out that propagating for non commercial purpose is legal. So you can make frags and sell that to fellow reefers, no problem. I think breeding clown in the first place it not worth it. They are so cheap that what you want to sell them at is not really worth the effort. Bengal cardinals is a different story, and since they are on the red list it is highly encouraged.

5. NewbiePta

NewbiePta Thread Starter

So all propogation and all breeding is illegal?

6. CameL

CameL

As Marius said, propagating or fragging of corals with non commercial interest is legal.

7. NewbiePta

NewbiePta Thread Starter

Clown fish was on my list because it was listed as an "beginner" level breeding fish. So my focus will shift to Bangai Cardinals. Oh boy.......

8. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

As a newbie to the hobby, you got so much other more crucial things to first master my young Padawan.

Fuzzy likes this.
  9. dallasg