Live Rock in new Tank

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by mandrin, 16 Nov 2015.

  1. mandrin

    mandrin

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Durban
    hi guys just started running my new 400 litres reef aquariam
    1 week now added. agronite.is
    added LR in my sump .and in my display so it cycling now
    was wondering would be OK for me to add the LR from old tank immediately or should I wait and add a few kgs a day
     
    Last edited: 16 Nov 2015
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Dexter

    Dexter

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Randburg
    You can add it all at once. Get the cycle going one time
     
  4. mandrin

    mandrin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Durban
    but the LR from my old tank is a few years old cured
    would not a few kgs A day be better dexter .
    ps some LR has coral on it sigh
     
  5. CameL

    CameL

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Primrose Hill, JHB
    I agree with dexter, if there is any die off from the "new rock" then your bacteria population will increase accordingly to process the ammonia and nitrites.
     
  6. mandrin

    mandrin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Durban
    k@Camel thought seeing that I taking out the rest of my LR from my current mature tank I could add it in new 400 litre a bit at a time
    won't the LR from current tank be cured
     
  7. CameL

    CameL

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Primrose Hill, JHB
    Yeah, so it will already be populated with bacteria, so it will just multiply according to the die off from the other rock. die off = food source for bacteria.
    As normal when cycling, even with the addition of your mature rock, test for ammonia, nitrites and nitrates before adding livestock.
    once all the rock is added, if ammonia and nitrites is reading 0, you can add livestock.

    Hopefully the "new rock" doesn't have too much die off and your cycle is relatively quick.
     
    Rob13 likes this.
  8. CameL

    CameL

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Primrose Hill, JHB
    On a side note, if your current tank is stocked which i think it is, wait for the other rock to cycle, as you don't want your fish living in a tank with no bio filtration.
     
  9. Dexter

    Dexter

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Randburg
    Is all the live rock coming from your old tank? if they already live and cycled I would just add Seachem Stability for a week. You can even get away without waiting the 6weeks or whatever it takes to cycle. When I started by new tank I added the live rock I had, did the seachem Stability cource and a week later I added fish. I skipped the whole cycle part becuae the rock I added was already "Live"
     
  10. mandrin

    mandrin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Durban
    @Dexter I have 7 kg new LR in tank now cycling
    balance of 25 kg or 30 kg is in old tank
    seems I should use the stability for week then after that I shud add the LR from my current tank to new wat u say lekker like a cracker
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  11. Dexter

    Dexter

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Randburg
    If the 7kg live rock came from establish tank there is no need to cycle. Just add all the rock together in your new tank and add the stability. The stability will establish the bacteria you need in your tank.
     
    Rob13 likes this.
  12. mandrin

    mandrin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Durban
    Dexter bud the 7 kg LR got from the LFS
    bud currently that's in tank cycling
    so wat u thinking
     
  13. Rob13

    Rob13 MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2015
    Posts:
    277
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Pretoria
    +1

    Add all the rock to the tank at the same time and use seachem stability or aquavitro seed... As stated by @CameL the already established live rock (from your old display) will possibly aid in shortening the cycle as the established bacteria will "eat" the ammonia/nitrites produced from any die off on the new live rock from the LFS...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  14. Dexter

    Dexter

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Randburg
    if it came from LFS and it was kept wet it will be fine by just adding it straight with other rock. The whole point of a cycle is to get rid of dead stuff that accumulated on rock. In your case all the rock is live, hence no need for cycle. Add the rock, do stability, check parameters and if everything is fine i will add my first fish slowly.
     
  15. mandrin

    mandrin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Durban
    thanks at Dexter
     
    Dexter likes this.
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Live Rock Tank Forum Date
[wtd] Live rock to set up my tank Wanted 21 Oct 2016
Starting new tank without Live Rock General Discussions and Advice 13 Mar 2016
[wtd] 2m Tank, Accessories, Liverock and Aragonite Wanted 17 Nov 2014
tank with live rock and big fish New Members 31 Oct 2014
Ich in a tank with water and live rock Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 25 May 2013
Live rock in a small tank? good or bad? General Discussions and Advice 2 Jan 2013
rotation of live rock from refuguim to main tank Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 3 Jan 2012