lighting system

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by tyson, 7 May 2013.

1. tyson

tyson

hi. i am looking for a lighting system for a 1000mm(l) x 700mm(h) x 450mm(w). preferably must have a mh unit in it as well. i am still new to this. tank is only in cycle know. i am staying in port elizabeth. thanks

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Smithers

Smithers

Why not look at a LED unit?

4. tyson

tyson Thread Starter

Its just that the mh is much brighter in the tank. And i think less expensive. But can be wrong.

5. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

Yes a 4*4 double cab is nice. But the loadbin is just as big as a half tonner...

Initial cost, the MH or T5 is a lot cheaper than LED unit. Especially second hand.

If it is your first ever tank, being a newbie I suggest looking at the for sale section. Even a 39W T5 unit will work. 4 or 6 tube unit. On your tank width a 8 tube unit will not fit (maybe, depends on unit)

Anyway as newbie and for the next 6 months you most likely should not run high light requirements corals. Clams, Anemones and SPS. First get to know how to keep the tank stable and algae under control. Then when you know what you want, then upgrade the lights if needed.

6. Ridwaan

Ridwaan

I once had a similar sized tank...
    Still have the lighting for it which was used for around 2 months and then stored..

Ive got a 1 X 250w MH incl bulb aswell as 4 X 39w T5 incl Bulbs...
    Its a ssolarmax unit and the units just slide in next to each other. So you can chop and change as your please...

Unit in excellent condition.

R3k

7. HOT SAUCE

HOT SAUCE

8. eibli

eibli

R420r LED Lighting System.

Have a look at this link. These are really great lights and will be perfect for your size aquarium.

9. HOT SAUCE

HOT SAUCE

also consider how much your electricity usage will go up if you use MH.... go the green way

Last edited: 8 May 2013
  10. eibli

eibli