lighting size

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by iced666, 4 Feb 2009.

  1. iced666

    iced666

    Joined:
    3 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,my tank is gonna be 1.5mx600mmx600mm.if im using T5 lighting,should it be the same lenght as the tank or can it be shorter or if i use 250w MH,how many is sufficent.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    For a 600mm deep tank, a 150wMh would be sufficient, look for a twin mh with actinics along the sides, like the arcadia twin series 3 - or two single units, depending on any cross bracing you have.
     
  4. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Three 250w halides if you want to keep SPS and three 150w halides for LPS and softies. The lights can include T5's with the halides spaced every third of the length of the tank for even distribution.
     
  5. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Tony, isn't that a bit excessive? three units would hardly fit over a 1.5m tank?
     
  6. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    I suppose you right. I have a 1.8m tank with that type of lighting. YOU can get 150W halide pendants for a 1.5-1.6m tank.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - lighting size Forum Date
Odd sized T5 lighting unit Lighting 24 Oct 2012
Lighting. Lighting 22 Nov 2016
Led lighting General Discussions and Advice 21 Nov 2016
Lighting. General Discussions and Advice 12 Nov 2016
Lighting for FOWLR Lighting 26 Oct 2016
Aqua Sanrise LED Lighting Lighting 14 Oct 2016
Acclimate anemone lighting Anemone's 24 Sep 2016