Lighting Setup

Joined
1 Apr 2008
Posts
728
Reaction score
6
Location
East London
Hello people, ive been a bit confused with setting up my T5 lights. The only thing I was told to purchase to get them working was (pic below) and I cant seem to figure out how this thing works. If anybody could please give me some electrical insight would be appreciated

IMGP0504.jpg
 
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
on the left 1 and 2 are your neutral and live.
4 is your earth.

lets call the 1 t5 l1.
connect 26 and 27 to the one side of l1.
and connect 21 and 23 to the other side of l1


lets call the 2nd t5 l2
connect 24 and 25 to the one side of l2
connect 21 and 22 to the other side of l2

dont do this until some one else can confirm this. thats what i could make of thepic BUT I MAY BE WRONG! let some one else give there opion

hope i could be of some assitance:)
 
Last edited:
Joined
1 Apr 2008
Posts
728
Reaction score
6
Location
East London
Do all you people use this? and what do i connect the lights to the ballast with? must i buy extra wire or does this thing unclip somehow?
 
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
going to need to buy extra wire. you must also buy a t5 fitting. your lfs might have the water proof end caps. i prefer to but a complete light unit which comes in one peice, plug and play. but yes all t5's run of a ballast(what you have). to be exact you have a dual ballsit which runs 2 t5 tubes.
 
Joined
1 Apr 2008
Posts
728
Reaction score
6
Location
East London
Yea 2 Lights for 1 Ballast. I got 4 Lights and 2 off these things. They didnt have any off those clips or the plug and play stuff... Sigh i cant believe its this hard to setup 4 lights...
 
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
its not hard. just takes a bit of sit down time. you can go to any lighting shop and take the ballsit with and ask them to give you the run down and all the extras you will need.
 
Joined
1 Apr 2008
Posts
728
Reaction score
6
Location
East London
Ok, im confused though, where is the power plug for this thing lol? it has not got anywhere to extent and add a plug on or is that for the 1 and 2 ect
 
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
you have to insert a wire into the sockets on the left numbered 1,2 and 4.
then add those wires into a plug. let me try draw a pic quickly.
 
Joined
1 Apr 2008
Posts
728
Reaction score
6
Location
East London
haha np on the pic quality, makes sense. Another confusing factor is how do I clamp the wires into the ballast? Do i need to solder them or how? Also, the 2 lights share 1 wire? Number 21?
 
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
thats the tricky bit. mine always piopend out. you have to push then in hard. dont use that flexy wire stuff. go to a lighting shopand see if the have a much stiffer wire. i dont know what is called but its a solid strip of copper inside, not those tiny strans of wire twisted together.
 
Joined
1 Apr 2008
Posts
728
Reaction score
6
Location
East London
ok, let me go play in Paint a bit and let me try figure something out. Ile then post a picture and people can see if its right or wrong.
 
Joined
1 Apr 2008
Posts
728
Reaction score
6
Location
East London
good idea, dont rush it. rather be safe than sorry.
Rushing R1000+ worth off lighting equipment? i doubt it lolz ;p. Ive been gathering info for the last 3 day's, cant afford for this to brake.

Also people the 2 lights on number 21, how do i connect them? do i put to wires into 21 from both lights or do i split one wire?
 
Joined
5 Oct 2007
Posts
1,607
Reaction score
14
Location
Cape Town
yes gaz. Storm what are you going to mount the balast to and how far is it goint to be from your lights. As gaz said, don't use the normal flex you get a white wire that has a thicker copper wire that you just push into the slots and it will hold in place.
 
Joined
5 Oct 2007
Posts
1,607
Reaction score
14
Location
Cape Town
Also people the 2 lights on number 21, how do i connect them? do i put to wires into 21 from both lights or do i split one wire?
Use two wires, so if something goes wrong with one light the other is still fine.
 
Joined
1 Apr 2008
Posts
728
Reaction score
6
Location
East London
ok finishing my picture will post when its done thanks. And @ Alfie ile be mounting it to the inside off my wooden lid, its a big 1.2meter lid and tank.
 

Top