lighting help

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by hassen, 15 Sep 2009.

1. hassen

hassen

hello there, i am fairly new to the marine hoby and at present studying the differant options regarding lighting, I have the option of having only 4 x 54 T5 lights or 2 x 54 w T5 and 2 x 125watt MH, which will be better for me in the long term, im planning on starting out with fish only with LR, then adding some LPS then later on SPS and anemones, note that the height from lights to bottom of tank will be about 70cm.

Niel has helped me alot so far and if you on Niel Thank you very much, just want to get views from other reefers as well

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Anemone

Anemone

What anemone species do you want to keep?

Will the T5 bulbs have individual reflectors?

Two 125 watt MH and 2 T5 is pretty minimal in my opinion

4. ADVdiver

ADVdiver

What are the dimensions of the aquarium.

If its 1.5 m and around 500 ltr I would not put more than 800w depending on your other dimensions i am guessing its about 500mm wide i would say 8 x 80w T5's with reflectors would be good.

5. aslam

aslam

Hi,we need the dimensions of your tank in order to help you make your decision.shot

6. Neil H

Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

tank is going to be 150x60x60 if i remember correctly

my opinion is that for this size a minimun would be 2x 250wMH and 4 x 54wT5 .... for bubble tips i think this should be ok.

Also dont know if 125w mh globes are readily available here and if so in what kelvin rating?

7. AndrévN

AndrévN

I use 3 x 150w MH's- 2 10k and 1 14k. And Six 54w - 3 White and 3 Actinic. And that makes my baby bright.

With this i have 4 nemmies, some sps and softies. And the lighting must be good as i revived a bleached purple tip from white to brown. And the nemmies all open everyday.

8. hassen

hassen Thread Starter