Lighting for new tank

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am quite new to the marine tank enviroment so I need help please from all the experts. I want to start a new tank - measures to about 12000mm (l) x 500mm (h) x 500mm (d). I would like to know what lightning will be te best to put in please. Also what will be the best, a home made skimmer, or one to buy.

Thanks
Cassie

The lighting would depend on what you would like to keep - Fish only doesnt need fancy lights - Soft corals & LPS would do well with T5 light - SPS would need 150w Metal HAlide and good flow. I would go for a Reef Octopus Skimmer ( good value for money)
I have an Reef Octopus Orca 100 rated for 750lt for sale if you interested.
Dont buy a cheap skimmer with no track record cos its a very important piece of ur marine tank experience.

Thanks alot. I definitely want to keep soft corals with the fish so the T5 would then work. If I only keep soft coral, will I also be needing the Metal HAlide. If not, how many of the T5's will I need. The tank will be about 300liters

Thanks

Hi Cassie

WELCOME to MASA

There are a few guy's running only T5 with sps in their DT and I was battle long and hard to get the correct info for sps and even bought a MH unit and I will tell you that few T5 will give you the same light and your tank is 50cm high what will your water level be?, Nothing wrong with MH if you have the cash flow.

The experts will correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks alot. I definitely want to keep soft corals with the fish so the T5 would then work. If I only keep soft coral, will I also be needing the Metal HAlide. If not, how many of the T5's will I need. The tank will be about 300liters

Thanks

Yeah - i think T5 are fine cos you dont have a deep tank - a 54w T5 globe is about 1,2m long so 4 x 54w T5 will work well - try 2 x White and 2 x Actinics