Lighting; don't know what to do

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Renegado, 24 Jan 2012.

1. Renegado

Renegado

Hey,

"Upgrade the lighting" is all I hear but how and with what? :eek: My tank is a Boyu MT40 http://www.boyu.us/eng/aquarium-kit/MT_40.htm

The light with everything put together
    [​IMG]

What is underneath once the plastic guard and reflector is removed
    [​IMG]

Written on the light, "PL - 18W 220V/240V/6400K"
    [​IMG]

The tank with light on.
    [​IMG]

I have zero experience with lighting of fish tanks. :whistling: I'm planning on beginner easy corals and I want to keep the hood; advice please people :yeahdude:

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Quintin

Quintin

4. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

Before you ruin your hood and spend a fortune on other lights, why not just try it with the built-in lights?

It's a small tank, I'm pretty sure if you add a few rocks and then place your corals on the rocks so that they will be closer to the light then you may very well be fine and not need to upgrade. The tank is only 38cm's high, I reckon you'll be fine with a few easy corals in there.

5. Renegado

Renegado Thread Starter

Wow that looks really impressive! My tank is obviously much much smaller, what do you think would be a rough estimate of the cost for me to go with led's? I really have no idea what these things cost and money is an issue

6. Renegado

Renegado Thread Starter

From what I've read it's no good, I was under the impression upgrading the light is an necessity.. If it's do-able for now that's great :)
    However I'm pretty sure as I gain experience and knowledge I'll want to try more corals so a better light will be in the works at some point

7. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor