LED's and PH Pen

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by JS, 23 Oct 2012.

  1. JS

    JS

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Hi

    So I thought I would share my findings with everyone...maybe you all know this, but maybe some newbie can learn and not make a potential mistake...

    Ok, so I have a Boyu TL 550, and my new 1.5m is cycling...but will get to that later...

    At first I had the stock standard PL tubes in the Tl550 hood, and later upgraded to a custom 36LED unit.

    I measure my PH with a Hanna PH Pen, and I always do this at about lights out, and just before lights go on in the morning...like I am sure you all do....

    However, I have measured a few time during the light cycle just to make sure....and under the PL tubes....fine...reading were stable...

    My recent discovery was that....wile the LED's are on....I get really weird reading....very low....and PH pen dislay fluctuates....if I switch the LED's off....the reading is normal and stabilizes.....:whistling:


    I thought my PH Pen battery at first was acting up....but replaced, recalibraed....same thing....even borrowed 2 more pens from friends....same thing....

    I also have another Boyu that I use as a frag tank....PL tubes....and perfect in that tank....

    So it seems that the LED's affect the PH Pen in some way....and then if so....does it only affect the Pen, and not my water? :(

    Everything in the tank seems fine and healty....

    Then my next question....

    In my new system I will have a PH Probe....and was thinking of using LED's over sump area....now I am worried that it will give fasle readings...

    Anyone else experiece this?
     
    Last edited: 23 Oct 2012
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Quintin

    Quintin

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Ruimsig
    Nope, using LEDs on all my tanks as well as i the sump.
    Nothing wrong with my PH pen or PH probes.....
     
  4. mupwi

    mupwi

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban South Africa
    it is probably the high frequency of the switch mode power supply causing interference with the meter don't think this should affect the tank but could definitely affect the ph probe. might need to look at some shielding or power smoothing
     
  5. JS

    JS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Cool, thanks for feedback guys...as long as it does not affect my corals I am happy...
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - LED's Forum Date
[wtd] Pharos Led's Wanted 16 Nov 2016
[wtd] Led's for 60cm cube Wanted 10 Sep 2016
[wtd] "KEY" led's Wanted 4 Sep 2016
New Aquaillumination Hydra LED's JUST LANDED! Aquarium World 4 Dec 2015
When Buying LED's off EBAy please bewear Lighting 16 Nov 2015
Determining height of led's Lighting 26 Jun 2015
DIY led's Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 24 May 2015