Keeping RO unit under pressure ?

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by neo, 30 Mar 2010.

  1. neo

    neo

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    A couple of times I forgot to shut the tap while making RO with my RO drum then overflowing, luckely this is outside but it is still a waste.
    I want to automate my RO by installing a float VALVE (not switch) inside my RO drum and having the RO unit outlet connected to the float valve.
    This implies the RO unit will be under constant presure when the valve is closed.
    Can I do this or will the RO unit be damaged/burst ?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    Why don't you put the solinoid valve on the incoming pipe from the main waterline? Then the unit won't be under pressure - you should have a valve there anyway to turn it on? Just replace it with a solinoid valve and connect it to the float switch ;)
     
  4. neo

    neo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    Pls read again.
    I want to use a float VALVE, not a switch, aka toilet type valve.
    Why ?
    Dont have a solenoid and float-switch (yet) so the cost is
    about R500 (electrical) vs. R80 (mechanical)
    (R500 = R100 for float switch, R200 for solenoid, R150 for power supply and R50 for some cabling and adapters)
     
  5. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    OOOPS my bad :p

    Ask the guy who supplied you the unit - they might be able to give you more detail ;)
     
  6. Moolis Moolman

    Moolis Moolman Pet Stop SA Sponsor

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    88
    If you buy the correct float you could plumb it into the supply. When you are in Pet Stop again ask me and I will show you how easy it is ;)
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Keeping unit under Forum Date
Who's interested in starting our own community and proudly SA Reefkeeping Magazine? General Discussions and Advice 4 Mar 2009
Reefkeeping OCD Full Tank Photo's 29 May 2016
Keeping more then one dwarf angel? Marine Fish Discussions 28 May 2016
anyone keeping a stylotella aurantium? Soft Corals 17 May 2016
Keeping a Sea Star Invertebrates 8 Apr 2016
Vancouver Aquarium says 'No' to ending practice of keeping animals in captivity JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 14 Jun 2015
Important NEWS ..FREE Reefkeeping Clinics Aquaria 4 May 2015