Keeping octopuses

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by the fox, 6 Apr 2008.

1. the fox

the fox

Hi

I have no experience with marine tanks but i used to breed freshwater fish with jason (ocean i think) and i have loads left.

I was thinking in a few months if it could be possible for me to buy an octopus?

I think he (ocean) said there are some people here that could import 1 for me. True?

So beening a rookie and salt water i few question about the octopus:

1. How big will the tank need to be.
    2. about how much would everything it cost?
    3. Could i keep any other marine life it there?
    4. What must i feed it?
    5. What maintenance would i have to do?
    6. What type of octopus would you recommend.

Thanks

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Kanga

Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

4. Warr7207

Warr7207

Welcome Fox

Interesting project, you reckon you you want to look after an Octo before understanding marine tanks and water parameters.

Good Luck

PS: DragonReef has some interesting pics and info on octopus.

5. Ocean

Ocean Lazy Sea Slug

bas your on great to see you, warr i can help him with everything
    I am sure that there are plenty of people that can help you here!

DragonReef please comment

6. Dohn

Dohn MASA Contributor

Read this on a website somewhere and pasted it here.

The expected life span of an octopus is short. In the wild, the males die after breeding while the females stay alive just long enough to care for the eggs until they hatch. Even if you prevent an octopus from breeding it will seldom grow older than 1-2 years.

Puts me off, spending all that money just to see it die as your tank has just matured.

Ocean likes this.
  7. Ocean

Ocean Lazy Sea Slug

they are awsome for the time they last though

8. HenkHugo

HenkHugo

Let's 1st keep nemo alive before we go for something bigger... deal? :thumbup:

9. the fox

the fox Thread Starter

Thank for the vid.