Keeping Aquarium Glass Clean

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Trine, 12 Apr 2010.

1. Trine

Trine

Over the past few days I have seen some beautiful reef tanks on this site and also on google images. I noticed that some of the tanks are immaculate. The glass is spotless whereas others have different types of growth on th glass and look dirty. Im new to this so Im wondering what is right. I kind of like the glass being clean, slightly obsessive some might say. What is best??

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Tobes

Tobes Retired Moderator

Some guys only clean the front glass, others do all of them - your choice really. some use magnet cleaners, other use scrapers with blades.

4. Trine

Trine Thread Starter

Thanks. Much appreciated.

5. neo

neo

I'm new to this but.....
    I do a quick wipe with magnet cleaner each evening i get home, makes me relax after the work-day before the kids-time, do it on 3 panes cause i have 3 viewing sides.
    Then i do a scrape-and-scrub each weekend and a good cleaning of outside glass after i'm finished with anything that might splash water on the outside.
    I clean one pane of my DSB so i can see into it nicely, once a week, nothing serious here.
    I do a thorough cleaning of the skimmer/return chambers once a month, including skimmer/pump, but i stagger this over 2 weekends, during water-change time.
    The longest i spend on cleaning is about 15mins.

6. Trine

Trine Thread Starter

Thanks

I have a a tropical tank at the moment and I do a fair amount of maintanance already. I really enjoy it and find it very relaxing. Thanks though I will keep it in mind when I eventually get my tank..

7. crispin

crispin

i dont thgink ive seen you on here before so welcome to masa trine.