Just another newbie !!

Discussion in 'New Members' started by jagman, 21 Oct 2008.

1. jagman

jagman

Good morning all !!

Well, almost everyone that my wife and I have spoken to has told us to do some serious investigating before rushing out and getting involved in the Marine Aquriums ! So, here I am. We are both Scuba divers and it is hellishly expensive to go diving all the time so I think it will be a lot less expensive by just setting up our own "little reef" at home, right next to the TV, so that I can watch the rugby while Elly watches her "TV" ! I think that it will also stop a lot of wrestling for the remote too !!! LOL

We are both still doing a lot of reading and looking at all the different types and sizes and, and, and, and............ Does anyone out there have any advice for the two of us ? I am a mechanic by trade and do all of my own DIY, so I am deffinately going to try steering clear of just going out to buy complete setups etc.

PS. Most of the "aqurium" is Elly's idea so I am probably going to have to move my TV and stuff out the lounge to make space for it ! Might just have to build my pub now for me to have some space !!!

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator

A very WARM WELCOME to MASA Jagman! Thanks for joining MASA!

OK - a very good place to start would be to look through our other "New Members" threads. There are MANY new starters in there, asking the exact same questions as you.

You can have a look at pictures of our members' tanks and setups, in this thread.

Things you must consider:
    - what size tank - can your floor handle the weight?
    - tank stand (see tank size/weight)
    - filtration: sump, skimmer, DSB, live rock, mechanical filtration, chemical filtration, biological filtration