Josh's tank

Discussion in 'Medium Tanks' started by Jscholtz014, 14 Jul 2017.

  1. Cabrinha

    Cabrinha

    Joined:
    12 Feb 2013
    Posts:
    237
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Durbanville, Cape Town
    Cool man. If you can invest in a stc 1000. I had temp problems and thats a thing of the past.
     
  2. Guest




  3. OP
    Jscholtz014

    Jscholtz014 210 LITRE AQUARIUM

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2016
    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    George
    Thanks guy for all your input. Will see what I can do
     
  4. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    25,463
    Likes Received:
    1,967
    Location:
    Centurion
    I have in my QT tank 1 * 300W heaters. 90L tank

    In the nano 80L with sump about total 120L, also 1 * 300w + 1 * 100w heaters on STC controller.
    On my big tank, 1800L total system I got 6*300W heaters.

    2 heaters cannot be overkill. Even with temp controller, the temp will only go up that much.

    Maybe just me, but I rather run an extra heater.
     
  5. OP
    Jscholtz014

    Jscholtz014 210 LITRE AQUARIUM

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2016
    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    George
    So even without temp control 2 will be ok?
     
  6. OP
    Jscholtz014

    Jscholtz014 210 LITRE AQUARIUM

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2016
    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    George
    Morning all. Managed to get a stable temp of 25,6.. now for the cycle
     
  7. OP
    Jscholtz014

    Jscholtz014 210 LITRE AQUARIUM

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2016
    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    George
    Ammonia starting to spike.. cycle on its way:swim:

    20170923_102030.jpg
     
  8. OP
    Jscholtz014

    Jscholtz014 210 LITRE AQUARIUM

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2016
    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    George
    Hi all.. need help.. so my ammonia spiked to 0.4ppm then nitrite spiked to about 0.02ppm and now nitrate is around 5ppm. (I measured other like ammonia nitrate and nitrite on each test..) is my cycle finished or what?? I thought ammonia spiked and nitrite spiked as way to low...?
    All help appreciated

    Regards
     
  9. OP
    Jscholtz014

    Jscholtz014 210 LITRE AQUARIUM

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2016
    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    George
    Bump
     
  10. hotdog83

    hotdog83 Clone Fish Moderator

    Joined:
    28 May 2008
    Posts:
    4,072
    Likes Received:
    1,217
    Location:
    Cresta, JHB
    If ammonia and nitrite has been zero for a day or 2, a good chance the cycle is done. A cycle can be very short and mild if you use cured rock or rock that came from an established tank. There will be more mini cycles as you add livestock until the bacteria have caught up.
     
  11. OP
    Jscholtz014

    Jscholtz014 210 LITRE AQUARIUM

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2016
    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    George
    Oh ok thanks:thumbup: will slowly start to add some turbo snails and a hermit or so..


    One more thing.. when I was aquascaping the tank I got quite a big shock.. it doesn't shock me when i wear shoes but will it affect the livestock?
     
  12. hotdog83

    hotdog83 Clone Fish Moderator

    Joined:
    28 May 2008
    Posts:
    4,072
    Likes Received:
    1,217
    Location:
    Cresta, JHB
    You need to find the source of the stray current, not good that it shocks you. Turn equipment off one by one and test to see if you are still shocked. Normally I found it is a pump where the cable broke where it comes out of the pump in most cases that causes it.
     
  13. Dian6430

    Dian6430

    Joined:
    22 May 2013
    Posts:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Tsitsikamma EC
    I think its a good thing to ground one's tank in any case
     
  14. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    25,463
    Likes Received:
    1,967
    Location:
    Centurion
  15. OP
    Jscholtz014

    Jscholtz014 210 LITRE AQUARIUM

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2016
    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    George
  16. hotdog83

    hotdog83 Clone Fish Moderator

    Joined:
    28 May 2008
    Posts:
    4,072
    Likes Received:
    1,217
    Location:
    Cresta, JHB
    I’ve read it can cause HLLE in fish.
     
  17. OP
    Jscholtz014

    Jscholtz014 210 LITRE AQUARIUM

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2016
    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    George
    Eish.. luckily I don't have fish right now.. do you think it will affect inverts and beneficial bacteria?
     
  18. OP
    Jscholtz014

    Jscholtz014 210 LITRE AQUARIUM

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2016
    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    George
    And how do i find the source without shocking myself every time?
     
  19. hotdog83

    hotdog83 Clone Fish Moderator

    Joined:
    28 May 2008
    Posts:
    4,072
    Likes Received:
    1,217
    Location:
    Cresta, JHB
    Multimeter should be able to show you if you out both ends in water?
     
  20. OP
    Jscholtz014

    Jscholtz014 210 LITRE AQUARIUM

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2016
    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    George
    Ok thanks alot
     
  21. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    25,463
    Likes Received:
    1,967
    Location:
    Centurion
    multimeter. one point in the tank, The other on the ground of an earthed plug point.
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Josh's tank Forum Date
Josh's tank (version 2) Medium Tanks 23 May 2018
[wtd] Silicone tank Wanted Yesterday at 07:06
Cleansing tank General Discussions and Advice Tuesday at 08:22
Frag/Coral Tank Placement General Discussions and Advice 13 Jul 2018
4age AIO nano holding/ coral quarantine tank Frag Tanks 11 Jul 2018
[wtd] Tank Goods General Discussions and Advice 10 Jul 2018
RSS LED & T5 Face-Off in the White Corals Display Tank RSS Feeds 9 Jul 2018

Share This Page