Joe's Dymax IQ5

Reaction score
Good day all, after being inspired by posts on this site, i have bought a 13 liter Dymax IQ5 acrylic tank. This is my first attempt at a marine aquarium. I have the following:
Dymax iq5 tank
Dymax small heater
Dymax small skimmer
Water circulation pump with jet
Dymax led light
Volcanic rock (not live) for small rear sump
Fiji pink aragonite substrate
Six palm sized pieces of live rock

Did the mixing and adding, and currently have water at 26'C and a hydrometer reading of 1.021. Will be updating, and asking tips from you please. Herewith some photos.

Reaction score
:welcomewave: Have fun with your new toy! Pretty little tank, but be warned, you going to want a big one soon!:biggrin: Ask any questions if you need any help. Give your tank time to mature, glad you didn't go with live rock, at least you know you aren't adding any critters you don't want, I am strong advocate for dead rock.

bollie

Advanced Aquarist
Reaction score
just love those picos,correct me if im wrong but i see zoa rock and other polyps there???

welcometomasa

Reaction score
Day 3

I have those six pieces of live rock (with some interesting creatures on) in the tank, then have volcanic rock (no life) in the back sump compartment. Awaiting those sump rocks to get populated by bacteria for the filtration needs.

The tank temperature seems pretty stable at 25'C, even though we had a few very hot days in Mpumalanga, and the hydrometer reading is also stable at 1.021, I have not noticed any evaporation. Im not even bothering to measure the ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate, im sure they are way off, and will test these in 4 weeks.