Inverter equipment

Discussion in 'Power cuts' started by Tony, 20 Mar 2009.

  1. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Hi guys. I was given an inverter which uses a standard male (with the pins)plug for power. I am looking for the female plugs (without the pins) which I will adapt for my Vortechs. Is there anywhere where I can buy these?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Try Lido electrical in Strydom Park, but phone before hand. We normally get our from them for audio gear.
     
  4. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Tony, could you explain what you needing to do? what "type" of invertor is this you have? sure its correct voltages for the Vortech pumps?

    perhaps some pics!
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Thanks Warren

    Lighty. The inverter is a standard computer one. The Vortechs only use 12 volts but plug into a standard 220volt plug. I want to hook a Vortech up to the inverter to keep the water moving during a power outage. The inverter only has those three pronged kettle plus and I want to get a female kettle plug and add a Janus plug to plug in my Vortech. Can this work
     
  6. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    is this a inverter or UPS, sounds like a UPS. So it will be wall plug -> UPS input, UPS output -> 220V plug from the vortech.
     
  7. Tony

    Tony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Sorry, it's a UPS. It has a 1000VA capacity. It's input is 230Vac50 Hz. Output is 230Vac 50Hz. I don't know if that helps anyone?
     
  8. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    Did you come right with this?go to any pc shop and buy the monitor power cables then cut of the plug you need
     
  9. Tony

    Tony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    I haven't gone as yet. Will keep you guys posted
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Inverter equipment Forum Date
[wtd] Ellies or Tedelex inverter with deep cycle battery Wanted 24 Apr 2015
inverter battery question Power cuts 2 Apr 2015
Grid tie inverters Power cuts 18 Jan 2015
How does it work and what to look for : Inverter Anything DIY Related 9 Jul 2014
inverter General Discussions and Advice 10 Jan 2014
Pure sine wave inverter CHEAP!!! Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 2 Jan 2014
Inverter 1000va for RSM 250 Power cuts 12 Sep 2013