Introduction - Info

Discussion in 'Large Tanks' started by Rennie, 17 Jun 2013.

1. Rennie

Rennie

To whom it may concern.
    Hi my name is Renier and i`m from bloemfontein, my occupation is in the oil industry so am travelling quite abit and on an average 5 months in a year at home. Have just recently discovered this forum site and its awesome,cant get enough of all the info and tips.
    I have started my marine tank approximately 6 years ago with the help of a professional marine hobbiest.
    A short discription of my set-up.
    Lightning system consist of x2(two) flourescent bulbs (x1-white & x1 blue)& x2(two) metal halides 70W
    Skimmer of which x2 (two) hallea pumps
    Sump system with ceramic balls, uv light and activated carbon/live rock.
    Inside tank i have installed an close loop system-runs on a quite 6000 pump.
    Underneath sand i have put pvc pipe with small holes drilled in also with n pump connected to prevent any buld-up of sediments in the seabed.
    All lightning & heating is connected on comp. module,and timers.If for instance water temp. rises it will aotomatically switch of heaters and activate fans.
    Got plenty of flow/circulation inside my tank.
    I run kalkwasser on top of tenk in a 5l cannister over a 5day period
    As i went threw the forums,people mention reactors ?what is the purpose of these ?
    Threw my 6 years i have had loads off hick-ups and stuff dying but at the same time other specimens will florish, one of these hick-ups u will see for urself on the attach photo is my yellow tang with no fins,bought these two dimple fisk from LPS and these two buggers was the cause of that,they never grew back and cant get sofar to get rid of the fish,we are coming a long road together.
    Just to the left of the yellow tang there is another fish which seems to have type of skin irratation,have treated it several times but with no-luck,been trying to catch that bugger for the last 12 months,any suggestions on how to do it ?