Into

Discussion in 'New Members' started by polyp, 3 Oct 2012.

1. polyp

polyp

Hi There Everyone

I am really new to this and have just bought a 2nd hand Boyu Tl450. From what i hear these are inceredible nanos
    We bought this nano 2nd hand from a family member who had been keeping live rock and about 3 or 4 clowns with one or 2 cleaner shrimps.

With the tank we got about 6 kilos or so of live rock, not the blue ones but the other ones. There is some growth on the rock but its not hectic algae or anything. on the 1st day we went to the 2 oceans fetched water scaped the tank (there was already some substrate in which was running all along.

As far as i can tell in the four chambers we have 1. heater and powerhead (the original one) 2. bioballs 3. skimmer (no sponge in) and 4. i am not sure. (ithink this is standard for the boyu)

We have been adding some bacteria in the tank as per instruction from the guy who set up the original tank (pet shop guy from ottery).
    sorry i dont have the names as i am at work now.

On the 2nd day the light wouldnt work and i disassembled the hood since the one switch was clearly not working and the other one probably needed a light bulb change)
    The stupid thing is - i broke the hinge clips that attached the hood to the tank (where it screws in) both of them. So now I feel like a complete idiot since there should have been an easier way to take the hood off.

for now though the hood is just sitting on the tank. no lights working but everything else is going strong.

we checked the PH levels and salinity, and calcium and all seems fine but we did measure calcium in at 550ppm. We were using the red sea kits.

The question is - when do we introduce livestock or do we just sit and wait?

anyways this is a great forum and I look forward to learning more and more all the time.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Wes

Wes

try get the light sorted before hand

4. Jayceew

Jayceew

Welcome!