Internet advice needed.

Discussion in 'Internet' started by viper357, 5 Mar 2014.

  1. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,982
    Likes Received:
    777
    So I recently changed from FF to Chrome due to FF using stupid amounts of RAM to run, but had a look today, and when I open Chrome, just to the home page, without doing any browsing, there's 5 instances of it running, effectively using more RAM than FF? Is this normal? If so it's really stupid and I'm going to uninstall it.

    [​IMG]

    And while typing out this post, I checked again, and now there's 7 instances of it running. What the hell???? That's almost 270mb of RAM just with one page open?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,142
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Location:
    Centurion
    Use FireFox...

    But yes, worldwide Chrome got more users than FF
     
  4. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,142
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Location:
    Centurion
    And I like the user account... Dad...
     
  5. viper357

    viper357 Thread Starter Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,982
    Likes Received:
    777
    lol :p
     
  6. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    Dean, had the same issue. Uninstalled Chrome and back on FIREFOX... Much less issues
     
  7. VicZA

    VicZA

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2013
    Posts:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Nelspruit
    another vote for FF ... best by far (imo). Is RAM really an issue for you ?
     
  8. birkettN

    birkettN Nathan

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    265
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Chrome FTW, honestly never had an issue with it.

    Chrome runs each tab in a separate process but I think it goes deeper than that depending on what is happening on the pages you are viewing.
     
  9. BlackSpark

    BlackSpark

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Honeydew, Roodepoort, GP
    You are correct @birkettN with regards to tabs...

    Are you running an oil burning pc that you are worried about RAM @viper357 ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  10. JackSplat

    JackSplat

    Joined:
    3 May 2013
    Posts:
    558
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Pretoria
    I use ff and chrome. Chrome is the better one imo, but yes, it does use more ram. If you have ram issues get more, it is cheap, provided you have the right mb and os of course...
     
  11. Gareth0508

    Gareth0508

    Joined:
    10 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    594
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Durban
    I use Safari, Apple junkie… :p
    I use chrome for my website management and haven't had any issues with it. Maybe its just a PC thing?
     
  12. viper357

    viper357 Thread Starter Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,982
    Likes Received:
    777
    No, RAM isn't an issue really, it just really bugs me. :p
     
  13. BlackSpark

    BlackSpark

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Honeydew, Roodepoort, GP
    Stop worrying about things you shouldn't be worrying about.

    Now get back to work LOL :tt2:
     
  14. viper357

    viper357 Thread Starter Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,982
    Likes Received:
    777
    No, I'm going to phone Google and complain. :p
     
  15. King_Triton

    King_Triton

    Joined:
    27 Sep 2012
    Posts:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Midrand
    Each plug-in and ad on runs as a separate process. Reason is so that if a particular ad on or plug-in fails, the browser itself will continue running.
     
  16. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    I use IE....
     
  17. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    no one is perfect, its ok
     
  18. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    the process are from all the background things you have running for chrome, plugins, integration, Gmail etc
    things like Skype etc also will cause issues
    dont worry about RAM, cpu cycles is what you can look for :)
     
  19. nudibranch

    nudibranch

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    601
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Fourways, Jhb
    lol :lol:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  20. nudibranch

    nudibranch

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    601
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Fourways, Jhb
    Run Chrome on Windows and Mac with no problem
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Internet advice needed Forum Date
be carefull what advice you believe on the internet General Discussions and Advice 7 May 2009
Cure to internet addiction haha JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 12 Nov 2014
Internet and Phones are down.... Dorry Pets 4 Feb 2013
eh hem... OK OK a "Newbie", after 216 months on the internet New Members 17 Apr 2012
Anyone here watching tv via internet? Internet 16 Sep 2011
Samsung internet TV? Technology 13 Aug 2011
&*#% Internet- Please help??????? Internet 4 Jul 2011