Info on via aqua in sump skimmer 2 sk-388NW

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration' started by Johan van Aardt, 18 Aug 2009.

  1. Johan van Aardt

    Johan van Aardt I love marines [R.I.P.]

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    cape town, table view
    So i will be setting up my 310 liter cube sometime over the next two months, and i need a skimmer. I could get this via aqua for about a thousend rand and its rated too 250 galons, not sure how much liter that is. I know the ts2 would be much better but how does this skimmer compare to the ts2 or other skimmers of the same fame.


    if anyone has any experience with this skimmer could you please tell me what u think about it.

    thanx in advance
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    It not that bad, but you better off getting a TS1 or TS2, they will out perform the Via Aqua, more so with the TS2.

    Another thing is back up, finding hens teeth is easier than finding spares for the Via Aqua.....
     
  4. Pugsly

    Pugsly

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    via aqua pumps are great (pond pumps) etc, they just keep going and going year in and year out! on the other hand the skimmer! not too good! TS2 would be a much better option IMO!!!! Spares for a via aqua is not easy to get hold of!
     
  5. Johan van Aardt

    Johan van Aardt Thread Starter I love marines [R.I.P.]

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    cape town, table view
    Its settled then. A ts2 it is,
     
  6. Pugsly

    Pugsly

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    excellent choice - you won't be sorry!
     
  7. riyadhessa

    riyadhessa

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Jip must agree...the ts2 is a very good choice...
     
  8. Pugsly

    Pugsly

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    So how are tihngs coming along then? Have you got the TS2 yet?
     
  9. Johan van Aardt

    Johan van Aardt Thread Starter I love marines [R.I.P.]

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    cape town, table view
    Not yet will be getting it next month only, unfortanately
     
  10. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    whoa wait a moment there who has proof that a ts2 can outperform a sk388??????????

    this is not true my via aqua sk388 is a real beast,first few weeks it skimmed average but after that its skimming awesome and better or on par with a ts2,a ts1 is simply no comparison.i'll post some pics for you johan.

    i empty the skimmer cup almost every day or two and i get really dark skimmate out and stinky stuff:p
     
  11. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    oh btw i have a sk288 in my other tank and it performs poorly!dont go for the sk288,but the sk388 is genuinely a good skimmer at a giveaway price.i'm using it for my 680lt mixed reef and i'm happy with it no upgrade plans,besides modding it to have an overflow outlet to a drum as i'm getting tired of emptying it so often.

    eish now i cant find the pics:whistling: murpheys law hey they always in my way when i'm looking for other stuff but now cant find it!
     
  12. Johan van Aardt

    Johan van Aardt Thread Starter I love marines [R.I.P.]

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    cape town, table view
    well then i think i should take this skimmer instead of the ts2 and then i have more money for more upgrades
     
  13. Pugsly

    Pugsly

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    TS2 needs no upgrades - I do feel it is higher quality than the SK388.

    just my 2c
     
  14. Pugsly

    Pugsly

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    what is today's price of a sk388?
     
  15. Johan van Aardt

    Johan van Aardt Thread Starter I love marines [R.I.P.]

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    cape town, table view
    1100 rand
     
  16. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    any proof to back this up my friend?theory is all well and good but come now why diss a product without any evidence?

    and btw the sk 388 doesnt need any upgrades either i just modded it to make my life easier but ive been using it for four years straight now without any problems.heres some proof pics i found
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    this was around two days worth of skimmate from when i used to skim dry....now it fills up completely in two days as i'm skimming more aggressively to get rid of phosphates and colour up some sps
     
  17. Ashwin

    Ashwin

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban
    Hi Joined Forum today, Purchased via aqua 2sk388nw yesterday have some doubts after reading negative remarks about skimmer. Thanks FALCON for the hope will keep posted on performance:p Any advise on correct settings to use in terms of water levels and vent settings
     
    Last edited: 7 Oct 2009
  18. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    hey ashwin welcome boet.....

    when you say the 2 sk 388 nw is this the newer ones with needle wheel?if so how much did you pay for it?


    as for settings well to be honest it's different for everyone.do you want to skim wet or dry?

    wet skimming takes out alot of phos and dirt but also alot of useful nutrients and trace elements.normally sps tanks would use this method as they add trace in any event.the liquid in the cup should be light brown for wet skimming not clear.

    for normal tanks with low bioload and normal softies or lps corals and some fish then skim dry.this does not remove alot of trace but also not alot of phos either.this method your cup should fill with nice dark brown coffee colour liquid.


    what kind of corals do you plan on keeping ashwin?


    water level on the outside doesnt really matter as long as its lower than the outlet pipe.

    i set my outlet at the right height with the air venturi set to middle then i simply adjust the venturi when i want to change skimming type i havent really moved the level outlet much.
     
  19. Ashwin

    Ashwin

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban
    hi Falcon

    thanks all my questions were answered above
    except for this. For wet skimming do you increase air intake or visa versa
    ie wet = more air. dry = less air or visa versa
    caus i am really struggling to get setting right
    should be skimming dry but can only get the skimmer to skim wet
     
  20. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    well it depends but with dry skimming i usually go for more air say 3/4 to full open venturi? this will give nice dirty skimmate...normaly new skimmers skim wet as they settle in they are able to skim dry alot better
     
  21. bhupesh.mandewal

    bhupesh.mandewal

    Joined:
    6 Oct 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    india
    Help....!!!

    Hey Falcon,
    even I have via aqua SK-388 running it from 4 weeks and still the foam is not forming
    im try to set it in different ways but still its not forming form..
    please help me out in this bit frustrated with this....

    thanks,
    bhupesh..
     
Recent Posts

Loading...