Info on kalkwasser reactor

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by Johan van Aardt, 1 Mar 2010.

1. Johan van Aardt

Johan van Aardt I love marines [R.I.P.]

Guys can anyone explain the workings behind a kalkwasser reactor, i know how a calcium reactor works but it seems like my new tank wont have space for one so im rather thinking of a kalkwasser reactor. But cant find exactly how it works.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. inflames

inflames

Tagging...

4. Neil H

Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

Ok, i am NO expert on this but am planning to use this method on my new tank so am slowly reading up on the method..... Any guru's out there please help out with a more technical explanation if you can .....

The Way i Inderstand it is as follows

you have a "reactor" for sorts.... a sealed pvc tube works just fine.
    as water evaporates from your DT, your float switch is activated to the on position
    this pumps water from your RO resivour to the Reactor chamber
    the water enters at the bottom of the reactor.
    as this "new" water enters, it displaces old water which exits at the top of the chamber
    the chamber has kalkwasser powder added to it.... there is a layer of this kalkwasser at the base of the chamber...
    All the calcium that can go into solution is disolved into solution (the layer left behind is the calcium that cant be disolved)
    As new water enters the reactor at the bottom, it is saturated with calcium, the water exiting the top which is full of calcium provides calcium to the tank.
    most reactors have a recirculating pump that turns on once or twice a day for a min or two to stir everything up and make sure the water is calcium saturated.

Well that is how i understand it anyway !

5. Mekaeel

Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

Spot on there Neil!

6. SchyffS

SchyffS Reef Aquarist

Spot on...
    I would add that there efficient ways to use kalkwasser: