Increasing Phosphates

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by Manic, 8 Dec 2010.

  1. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Hey everyone,

    I know this is a weird question but I need to increase my phosphates. I tested my water today and my nitrates are 5 but my phosphates are below 0.1. In order to decrease my nitrates I need to increase my phosphate level, with using the zeo method you can't decrease nitrates without the presence of phosphates. Is there any way to do this?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    Feed lots of frozen stuff without thawing out .....
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  4. ziyaadb

    ziyaadb

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    5,566
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB-Lenzz
    yes chuck them frozen blocks in
     
  5. Bob the (reef)builder

    Bob the (reef)builder

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Joburg
    Firstly, what kit are you using to measure your parameters. Not many are very accurate.
    Secondly you have enough PO4 to get your nitrates to 0 as these two do not work on a one to one basis.
    Thirdly If your po4 is 0.01 your job is going well and you really should not worry about 5ppm of nitrate. Thats nothing. some propagation guys add nitrates to get to about 10ppm to keep their corals happy.
     
  6. Manic

    Manic Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Thanks rob. I used a salifert and Elos kit and they didn't register any phosphates. You sure 5ppm nitrates is low enough for colourful sps.
     
  7. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    0.1 or 0.01? I would not trust any kits tbh - my one ric tank has 0.02 Po4 and >2No3 and nothing I do increases these - guess the rics are using it all up...
     
  8. Monti

    Monti

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    811
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Durban
    I would agree with bob 100% regarding the N to P ratio... and yes, even nitrates of 5ppm is fine to keep sps happy and colourful. Your tank is still fairly new, so I wouldnt be stressing too much- another week or two and those nitrates should drop some more.

    I really cant stand any phos test kits- all woefully inadequate.
     
    Last edited: 9 Dec 2010
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Increasing Phosphates Forum Date
increasing nitrates to get rid of phosphates? General Discussions and Advice 24 Sep 2013
Increasing existing sump volume Beginner Discussions 14 Oct 2014
Increasing the pod population in my tank General Discussions and Advice 12 Jan 2014
Increasing Water Volume. Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 3 Nov 2011
Increasing the flow in a dsb Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 20 Jul 2010
Increasing Salinity Beginner Discussions 6 May 2008
Increasing/Decreasing PH Beginner Discussions 28 Apr 2008