Image noise on Photos

Discussion in 'Photography' started by seank, 23 Aug 2010.

1. seank

seank

I see a lot of people post beautiful photographs on the Forum, but sometimes the "noise" on the pics tend to make the pics not so nice.

I'll try to explain in Layman's terms what noise is as well as give some examples.

Even though I did extract some information from the world wide web, most of the write-up is my own, and of my own experiences, not that I am a professional photographer, more so that I love to use my camera on a regular basis and learned most from trial and error.

Definition of noise:
    Image noise is the term applied to pictures. It is almost the same as to what you hear in audio or video, but it is reflected as speckles.
    Noise is similar to grain that appears in photos taken with traditional cameras using high ISO films or similar to the "snowy" appearance of a bad TV signal.
    For example, instead of a blue sky, you notice faint pink, purple and other color speckles amongst the otherwise blue sky.

What causes the "noise"
    Things such as exposure, temperature and different camera modes can affect image noise.
    When we use a higher ISO, we are amplifying the signal we receive from the light protons in the sky.
    No matter what you do to prevent image noise, some will always be present.Noise occurs because of electrical variations and interference in the image sensor.

There are three primary types of noise:
    Random, fixed pattern and banding.

Random noise revolves around an increase in intensity of the picture. It occurs through color discrepancies above and below where the intensity changes.

Fixed pattern noise surround hot pixels. Hot pixels are pixel bits that are more intense than others surrounding it and are much brighter than random noise fluctuations. Long exposures and high temperatures cause fixed pattern noise