Ideas on Scaping

Discussion in 'Aquascaping' started by bothabear, 16 Sep 2013.

  1. bothabear

    bothabear

    Joined:
    16 May 2013
    Posts:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Hi All

    I am getting a 1.5m tank in a month or so and need some ideas on a scaping layout.
    I have had a Nano for about 6 months so space was limited.

    Anyone with good ideas, pics or articles to see?

     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
  4. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
  5. Bflynn

    Bflynn

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    663
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Worcester
    If I had to do another scape, knowing what I know now. I would put as little rock as possible on the substrate.
     
  6. daivan

    daivan

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bandung
    Hi

    Have the same tank here, I'm still thinking how to move the biota when the new tank cycle is done.
    My plane is using existing live rock to do the aquascape.
    Will it ruins the cycle if I add the rock after the cycle done?
     
  7. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,158
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    yes

    It is the dead things in the rock that must either decompose or be eaten up that is the cycle. The ammonia released from their decaying corpses. (Such a Halloween answer).
     
  8. daivan

    daivan

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bandung
    So I should to move the live rock from my existing nano tank to the new one then start cycling? And my nano tank will become and FO tank.....oh my.....
     
  9. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,158
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    not sure if I follow you right.

    You got a nano running. With rock
    Now you are getting another bigger tank. This bigger tank, is it a running system? Or new and you will get new rock pieces as well? Or will you just move everything from nano to new tank without adding any new rock?
     
  10. daivan

    daivan

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bandung
    Yes I got nano running for 5 years already. And I'm already have the bigger tank (still empty). My plan with the new tank is add a new sand, sea water, and start the cycle.
    And when the cycle is done, I will move everything in my nano tank to the new bigger tank.

    So this is the question:
    1. when I move the 5 years old live rock to the new tank, will it ruins the cycle?
    2. What should I do with the old sand? Is it ok to move it to the new tank too?

    Thanks for your quick response.

    Here I have my nano and the new tank pict's attached.

    uploadfromtaptalk1383120188075.jpg

    uploadfromtaptalk1383120284656.jpg
     
  11. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,158
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    If you add new playsand as substrate, or new aragonite as substrate. And only have new water and the new substrate in your tank. There will be no cycle. There is nothing dead that will release ammonia. Nothing that will bring bacteria into the system. It is basically a sterile environment.

    Adding live rock. Or dried out life rock. Anything that is either still alive or partly alive or used to be alive. That will cause a cycle period. If everything is dead in the rock, then adding a small piece bought from LFS or from another existing system will help to transfer bacteria and other critters to the dead rock.

    If however. You plan to move everything over from the old existing tank to the new tank. One sunny Sunday afternoon. Then nothing will happen unless you transfer the substrate as well. Just lift the rock and move over. Better is to drain the old tank 50% and fill the new tank with that. So that the move is to water with same parameters. If you need extra water, just make sure the salinity and PH matches. Temperature as well. If you move the rock over, lift and shift, you will not have die off. But do not expose the rock for too long. 1 minute should be fine. 30 minutes and your sponges and bigger critters will die off.

    Remember, although we say we need to cycle the water in a new tank. It is not the water that needs to cycle. It is the lifeforms in and on the rocks that needs to grow and expand. While all dead matter is removed or decay or consumed. It is because of the released ammonia levels that we can pick up with test kits in the water, that we know that the cycle is still going or complete. But actually, the rock is what needs to cycle.
     
    Last edited: 30 Oct 2013
  12. daivan

    daivan

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bandung
    What if I add a dead shrimp so the bacteria can come out.

    So it's ok to move the existing sand as well to the new tank when the cycle is done.

    Sorry if my question or explanation was confusing you. I'm indonesian:D:beer:
     
  13. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,158
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    how deep is the old tank substrate?
    Will you add more substrate?
    How much settlement do you have in the old tank substrate?

    Do not want to move the substrate over, releasing lots of trapped detritus. If clean enough, no problem. If you add more substrate, add the new substrate first, then the old on top.

    Rather add smaller pieces of liverock than a dead shrimp.

    I wondered where is Bandung. Now I understand.
     
  14. daivan

    daivan

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bandung
    5 Cm
    To the old tank? No
    To the new tank? Yes, I will add 12cm or so.
    I don't understand what is settlement? :confused:
     
  15. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,158
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Settlement is Detritus.

    If you disturb your sand, does it release a cloud of dirt into the water?
     
  16. daivan

    daivan

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bandung
    Owh I see.

    Yes it does, so I should rinse the sand, and put it on the upper layer of the new sand. Is it correct?
     
  17. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,158
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    if you want to keep the sand. But rinse it in old tank water. Do not want to kill the bacteria on the sand, just wash out the excess settlement.
     
  18. daivan

    daivan

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bandung
    Ok, thanks RiaanP.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Ideas Scaping Forum Date
Aqua scaping cube .. ideas? Aquascaping 13 Jan 2011
aquascaping ideas General Discussions and Advice 20 Nov 2009
Different Scaping Ideas Aquascaping 8 Jan 2009
Sump build ideas Anything DIY Related 29 Oct 2015
Awesome Outdoor Aquarium Ideas JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 14 Jun 2015
Any ideas of what this guy is? ID Needed 24 Mar 2015
stocking ideas for a 1000l fowlr General Discussions and Advice 5 Feb 2015