Urgent help needed Ich help

Discussion in 'Urgent Help Needed' started by candy, 28 May 2010.

1. candy

candy

Hi all,

Just discovered through some reading that my tank has ich. Please advise what i can do tonight? Should I do a water change? How much seawater and how much RO water? I have an anti-ich for a tropical tank, can it be used for a marine tank? Please guys, I am a beginner so simple english is needed. :)

All the articles have these long explanations advising different things...what is the best way to solve the problem. most of my fish aren't eating and my goldie is very lethargic...

please help!

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Reef Maniac

Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

Hi Candy,

NO !

The fresh-water disease is caused by a totally different organism than that which causes marine white spot, and the treatments are different as well.

Before you do anything, please post a full discription of your system (and especially what livestock you are keeping in the tank). Most inverts are very sensitive to copper, and will be killed if you use any copper-based medication in your tank. Your live rock will also absorb copper, and will release it again for a long time, even if you change all the tank water, thus remaining dangerous to corals and other inverts for a long time after treating the tank.

If your fish have marine white spot it would be best to treat them in a dedicated hospital tank, using the hypo-saline (low salinity) method. You must be sure that it IS white spot, though, and not marine velvet (which looks similar)

Hennie

4. LuckyFish

LuckyFish MASA Contributor

Then you are in big shit and you have to react fast.
    You need a quarantene tank. Add a powerhead, room light is enough, a canopy and heater, skimmer if you want, but not needed.
    The powerhead has to pull the water through some filtermedia, which you should take out of the filter from your Display tank.