I want a tropical tank

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Uda, 3 Feb 2012.

1. Uda

Uda

Hi all,

I'm new to the aquarium thing and actually got one coz i had to. My mom got my 3 year old daughter two goldfish in a bowl. After the first night they spent at our home, I woke to find them in my soap dish, motionless... My little girl saying "They were smelling mum, so I washed them". To cut a long story short, I rushed to the local pet store and after following their advice religiously, saved two fish from dying of tail and fin rot. :yeahdude: I would like to have neon tetras. What changes in my tank set up and temperature?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. JohnDoe

JohnDoe

Hi,

As far as I know, neons can survive in cold water but warm water is preferred. They like to be kept in a shoal, so get at least 5. Also, if you have space get a plant in there (not plastic).

If you want to keep tropical fish, I suggest putting in a heater and some sort of filter.

You will need to do a 20% water change at least once a month as well, depending on the state of the water.

4. belindamotion

belindamotion Google Master

5. Uda

Uda Thread Starter

What plants to use for tank with neon tetras?

Thanks John Doe. What plants should I use for tank with neon tetras? Anubias? And how do the plants stay rooted in the water? It will be the first time using a heater, thermometer, etc.

6. Uda

Uda Thread Starter

I need to work my way up to marine... LOL

7. belindamotion

belindamotion Google Master

Enjoy...:thumbup:..once the bug bites...;)...pity the wallet can't keep up with all the lovely "candy"...:p...really some stunning Fish and Corals..:)

8. Uda

Uda Thread Starter

LOL

Wallet! :eek: OMG I know... I will be broke!

9. Ares

Ares

@Uda