Urgent help needed I have crabs !!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Urgent Help Needed' started by quispiam, 19 Jan 2011.

1. quispiam

quispiam

REcently I have been noticing that a few of my fish seem to be disappearing from my DT. Being a slight novice I assumed these guys were just shy. Last week I eventually plucked up the courage to purchase my long awaited Flame Angle and also got two Candy Gobys with it. THey were place into the DT and two days later none of them were around any longer........[​IMG]

Being quite alarmed, I armed myself with my pajama shorts and my maglite and waited until the lights in the DT had gone off ( an hour or so after that) and then went to have a look at what was happening in the taken. Scanning over the rocks, the light caught sight of quite a huge set of mandibles........ a big hairy looking crab was staring at me....pinchers the size of my pink-finger nail........
    First I was quite excited, then after some thought I realized that this can't be good and that in fact this may be the reason why the fish are disappearing....
    Since then I have sopted another baby crab and then one ( this morning) of an in-between size (big enough to have eaten 5 of my new chromis's I put into the DT this past weekend)

Anyone out there know how to catch these night-assasins.......??????[​IMG]

I also have a Concentric Circle Angle that I need to catch (bigger than the palm of a grown man's hand) - had the hook in his mouth 5 times yesterday, but no luck yet. He is eating my new leather and chases the smaller fish around. Never really liked him - was sold to me as a Juvenile Emperor......

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. rakabos

rakabos

Catching the fish with coke bottle method may work (though it has never worked for me). Taking the rocks out to catch the crab and the fish may be your only option

4. Anemone

Anemone

How much live rock do you have in your system?

5. 459b

459b Moderator MASA Contributor

thats alot of fish to loose to crabs!