I.D in substrate

Discussion in 'ID Needed' started by Pendragon, 3 Mar 2013.

  1. Pendragon

    Pendragon

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sandton
    I need a I.D on whats in my substrate But I cant take a pic, it looks like a pistol shrimp but its only around 3mm big and there is alot of them, at first I thought the holes in the substrate was from bristol worms till i saw them this morning. I have been loosing fish slowly Dallas did lend me a crab trap but all I catch is my hermits and snales.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    At 3mm I do t think its them, but maybe sea lice?
    Without a pic will be hard, maybe scoop some gravel out and see if you caught one
     
  4. Pendragon

    Pendragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sandton
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Pendragon

    Pendragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sandton
    I hope that helps, will keep them in a container.
     
  6. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,155
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    looks like amphipods...
    little shrimp like critters.
    They are good
     
  7. Pendragon

    Pendragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sandton
    :thumbup: ok so they not the reason my smaller fish go M.I A
     
  8. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    Nope my guess is crabs or mantis or bristleworms
     
  9. Pendragon

    Pendragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sandton
    Im at the point that I want to Iodine dip all the rocks. @dallasg I will make a plan to return the trap before you are sold off.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  10. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    Iodine won't do anything
    How much rock we talking?
     
  11. Pendragon

    Pendragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sandton
    I don't want to kill the thing just flush it out my system, I have around 20-25kg L/R.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - substrate Forum Date
[wtd] Substrate Wanted 15 Nov 2016
[wtd] Substrate wanted Wanted 14 Nov 2016
Suncoasts john dorrys tank substrate Aquascaping 25 Jul 2016
Substrate turning green Nuisance Algae 30 Jun 2016
Substrate Beginner Discussions 14 Apr 2016
[wtd] Substrate Wanted 8 Apr 2016
Question on Nano Skimmer and Aragonite substrate Beginner Discussions 9 Mar 2016