Howdy!

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Nism0, 20 Jan 2012.

1. Nism0

Nism0

Hi everyone,

Marine newbie here looking to move away from fresh water tanks and lose my hard earned money keeping a small box of a few marine fish alive. :thumbup:

Keeping the tank happy will probably be the easy part. Keeping the wife happy may prove a little bit more intricate. :whistling:

Wish me luck ;)

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. dallasg

dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

welcome!

tell us more on what you plan to get equipment wise? what type of tank you looking at keeping, mixed reef, fish only etc

4. Jinx

Jinx

Hey welcome to Masa!

5. Nism0

Nism0 Thread Starter

Thanks Dallasg,

I am purchasing a tank which is already established. It is a 4ft reef tank with probably with a 3ft dsb sump.

Stocked with some blue/green chromis, a six line wrasse and a percula false clown.
    Some soft corals and a couple of shrimp.

The only thing that has me nervous is the anemone. Its been in the tank for about a year and is looking very good.

Chances are i'll be asking for a lot of advice in the next few months.

Once the tank is moved and settled I was thinking of adding a refugium in the cabinet.
    If i can seperate the dsb and refugium ito flow and light, would this be a viable route in terms of bio filtration or will i be making more hassles for myself?

6. neemow

neemow

Welcome !:)

7. gMAN

gMAN with the plan

Welcome to MASA Nismo, when do you plan on moving the tank to your place? In regard to the anemone, can you tell us which species it is? When moving the tank, you may have to save as much of the current tank water and dose with stability or prodibio.

8. dallasg

sounds good, well there is always support here, when you move the tank, i suggest maybe using seachem stability to help with the bacteria etc, its not always ideal to move and tank then add the livestock but we can make it easier if we following some simple guidelines