How much can a TS2 handle?

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration' started by Rocky, 6 Nov 2010.

  1. Rocky

    Rocky

    Joined:
    4 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midrand
    Hi all,
    How big a tank can a TS2 handle?? (volume)
    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: 6 Nov 2010
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. burt

    burt

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    gordonsbay
    my ts2 worked on my 200l system like a dream + the sump an extra 100 l, how big is your system
     
  4. Rocky

    Rocky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midrand
    It was going to be like 100L but I think Ill use the 100L tank as the sump. Do you think it could go 250L?
     
  5. burt

    burt

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    gordonsbay
    easy
     
  6. burt

    burt

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    gordonsbay
    do you have the skimmer all ready?
     
  7. Rocky

    Rocky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midrand
    Ya.
     
  8. burt

    burt

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    gordonsbay
    good
     
  9. paul bloem

    paul bloem

    Joined:
    22 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria
    It will work like a dream on a 400L system, its a verry good skimmer
     
  10. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    It will work fine. Look in the forums for the mesh mod for the ts2.. Its worth every cent!
     
  11. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
  12. herkie

    herkie R.I.P.

    Joined:
    18 May 2007
    Posts:
    884
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    The Bay of KZN
    I bought my TS2 when I had a 2mx610x610 tank with a 100l sump and it worked fine, now it is running on a 120l system and its 'still going very well'. I would say it will handle a standard 2m tank with sump easily. It is probably grossly under rated or if it is rated correctly marine junkies likes to over do everything most of the time.

    AND IF WE DO LIKE TO OVER DO THINGS; 'WHAT ABOUT IT?'. As long as we are happy.
     
    Last edited: 6 Nov 2010
  13. Rocky

    Rocky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midrand
    Went to Idol Marine today and they say the biggest is a 500L setup, so now im looking for a tank!!
     
  14. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    That sounds right.. You wouldv been better off with a nw-200. It skims more like a ts3
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - much handle Forum Date
Help Needed - How much weight can a second storage floor handle? General Discussions and Advice 21 May 2012
This is for all those who have to much money Reef Hunters 11 Sep 2016
How much salt? Beginners 19 Jul 2016
My first marine tank... much needed advise Beginner Discussions 21 Sep 2015
New, broke & reading way to much. New Members 29 Mar 2015
How much light is too much? Lighting 16 Feb 2015
lighting is it too much. General Discussions and Advice 25 Nov 2014