How many power points?

Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
342
Reaction score
4
Location
Hillcrest
Looking at redoing my wiring again as I still underestimated the number of plug points to put in the last time that I did it. So decided to ask you all......How many plug points do you need to run a marine system without having to resort to multiplugs, double adapters etc?

By the way - Happy New Year to you all!!!
 
Joined
20 Jul 2007
Posts
939
Reaction score
15
Location
Canada
Depends on how many equipment you have. And what kind of equipment. For instance, my Giesemann light pendant has 3 plugs - one for 2xT5, one for 2xT5 and one for the two MH. So that uses up 3 plugs already.
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
342
Reaction score
4
Location
Hillcrest
And there I was thinking that it was difficult :razz:! Perhaps I should have asked the question differently...What is the general consensus on the optimum number of plug points?
 

Mekaeel

Moderator
Joined
8 May 2007
Posts
24,226
Reaction score
130
Location
Point Waterfront Durban
Looking at redoing my wiring again as I still underestimated the number of plug points to put in the last time that I did it. So decided to ask you all......How many plug points do you need to run a marine system without having to resort to multiplugs, double adapters etc?

By the way - Happy New Year to you all!!!
Sheees,i must be got aroud 20-30 plugs on a i'll say 6 adapters.
And Happy new year
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
3,711
Reaction score
426
Location
Bracken
nevr enough!!
 

Tom

Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
1,310
Reaction score
1
Location
Port Elizabeth
Twenty would be a good amount, perhaps four extend a plug strips that have two prong and three prong points. Just always make sure the plugs are on an earth leakage.
 

Rory

Admin
Joined
5 May 2007
Posts
4,857
Reaction score
37
Location
JHB
I'd also say at least 20... Try think of all the things you need to plug in then double it :p Also timers can get in the way a bit. I also find those 1 3-pin to 3 2-pin adapters very handy...
 
Joined
3 Aug 2007
Posts
124
Reaction score
0
Did a quick count on mine and I have 30 points. Also have the 3-2 combination. I still have a few empty points but I am sure by the end of the year I will need to add some more. Plus the timers sometime occupy more than one plug as they are a bit large.

Suppose it also depends how big your setup is. I also went on the side of caution and have a spare of most necessities. Two skimmers, 2 return pumps, 4 heaters.
 
Joined
3 Nov 2007
Posts
5,052
Reaction score
53
Location
Westville, Durban
Kevin, what I would advise is to really think it thru.... 1st Q: Are you going to use some sort of back up power (genset, UPS), because if you are you mite want to run separate curcuits for back up and main line with a auto switch, in other word a set of plugs, that in the event of a power cut, would be isolated from the mains so that you would not have to unplug half your system before you start the genny or ups, as depending on the size of it you may only be able to a limited amount of equipment.

Hope that made sense. (Let me know if you need more assistance) :)
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
342
Reaction score
4
Location
Hillcrest
Thanks lIghty. I do run the whole system off a single source so that I can add a UPS/generator. Have not got around to adding that into the equation yet but I am looking at one of those auto switchover systems.....all I got to do is find one that does not cost the earth!

I tend to agree with Silvano14 I have a total of 15 at present (mixture of two and three pin) and am struggling. One of the reasons that I do not like the extenda plug solutions is that the timers etc do take up more than one plug so I will be putting in double wall plug boxes. Guess 30 is a safe bet.

Thanks all.
 
Joined
3 Nov 2007
Posts
5,052
Reaction score
53
Location
Westville, Durban
Thanks lIghty. I do run the whole system off a single source so that I can add a UPS/generator. Have not got around to adding that into the equation yet but I am looking at one of those auto switchover systems.....all I got to do is find one that does not cost the earth!

Thanks all.

I could build one for you (or help you) , shouldn't cost much at all, take a wild guess but mayby R100 or R200...
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
342
Reaction score
4
Location
Hillcrest
I could build one for you (or help you) , shouldn't cost much at all, take a wild guess but mayby R100 or R200...
Thanks lIghty, think that I could stretch to meet that budget! Would you be able to build me one - my last interaction with circuits was building crystal radios in the 60's!
 

Similar threads


Top