how does a QT work ?

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by neo, 30 Jun 2010.

  1. neo

    neo

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    Stupid question I know but...
    How does one run a QT tank ?
    I know it's a seperate tank with its own water that's not shared with your main tank.

    Does it have substrate, lights, sump etc. ?
    Are you suppose to run it all the time or do you drain it and only fill it when you have new/problem ls to care for ?

    pls educate me on this one.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. danimal

    danimal

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Durban
  4. Boegie

    Boegie

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    East London
  5. amalick

    amalick

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cape Town
    The importance of QT

    Absolutely brilliant article. If I were to think of just one thing that I could attribute to my recent bloom or success on this hobby it would be the QT principles described in this article.

    I have introduced many, many new live stock via this method with great success.

    I have also avoided just as many infected introductions either by "death in qt" or just plain and simple medication and good care in qt before going into my DT.

    IMHO a QT system is just as important if not more important than many other pieces of equipment we place in our systems. I would almost go so far as to say that it should be compulsory (IMHO! IMHO! IMHO!)
     
  6. neo

    neo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    thx boegie, it is exactly what i was looking for.
    @amalick, what kind of filtering do you use on your qt, the artical talks about biological which one needs to keep going on the main dt and then use when needed but how is this actually done ?
     
  7. amalick

    amalick

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cape Town

    I kind of briefly explain my QT setup and operation in my thread.

    Direct link here : Marine Aquariums of South Africa - View Single Post - Ashraf's window into the reef
     
  8. neo

    neo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    thx, seems easy once i know/understand all the parts.
     
  9. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    here is mine
    I set up a Quarantine tank - Marine Aquariums of South Africa

    But I took it down.
    I'm busy setting up my old 240L standard 1.2m tank as a QT tank. Actually as a complete separate system. Only thing needed is an auto top-up.

    Important part. Make a mark on the tank. Your full level. Then everyday first top up with RO. Then you drain 10 or 20% water. And refill with water you kept from previous water change on your display. Just keep that old water moving in its container with a small powerhead.
    Water you take out of the QT tank, you have to chuck away....

    Do not move any equipment between QT tank and Display.
     
  10. neo

    neo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    is a QT suppose to be at same salinity as the display or at a lower salinity ?
     
  11. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    Depends on what you have in there.
    Any corals, zoa's, leathers etc.. Yes it should be normal salinity. Even like me who is using live rock until I see something wrong.

    If only fish with pvc pipe for hiding spots, or false rock or real dead LR. Then you can do what the LFS does. Drop salinity to 1.019.

    But I'm using my old water change water. So that is already at right level.

    Just ensure that always you should top up with RO, before doing water changes on your QT tank. Make sure salinity level stays stable.
     
  12. neo

    neo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    ok,
    but is this a 'one or the other' type thing or is the salinity levels between 1.019 and 1.026, say 1.021, of any use, hmmm, let me try in a diff way.
    1.019 is 'hyper salinity' as i understand and helps with parasites etc.
    1.026 is about normal, is there any benefit in running at 1.021 for ex. ?
     
  13. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    Depends on what you have in there. Inverts? Corals? then normal.

    Also if same salinity, then it is easier to introduce into your tank. So you go through salinity and water parameters acclimatisation only when you buy the life stock. But really it is up to you.

    Also, check where you get your stock from. LFS run with 2 different setups. The tanks with only fish are at hypo salinity. And tanks with corals are normal at around 1.023 to 25.

    I will run it as close as possible to my main tank. When and only when I do find whitespot, will I drop the salinity. To be raised to correct levels a week before the QT time ends.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - does Forum Date
Does adding a water pump slow the heating process? General Discussions and Advice 16 Jun 2016
Does tank size affect fish size? Advanced Topics 11 Apr 2016
why does torch turn to white from brown color? LPS Corals 15 Jan 2016
Does anyone know where to get these? General Discussions and Advice 10 Jul 2015
Does Aiptasia-X really work Nuisance Algae 11 May 2015
How long does a wrasse need ? Marine Fish Discussions 16 Feb 2015
Where does Zoa colour come from? Soft Corals 22 Dec 2014